Stephen M. Dowell/Orlando Sentinel/Getty Images

Juan Pablo Montoya Drives Chip Ganassi to Victory at Rolex 24

The Rolex 24 at Daytona signals the start of the new racing season. For most fans, this race gets the feeling of missing racing and seeing cars on the track out of the way and prepares them even more for the excite of NASCAR’s Daytona Speedweeks that follows the Rolex 24.

It was a NASCAR driver that led his team to victory today. Juan Pablo Montoya finished the deal for Chip Ganassi (who is also his Sprint Cup Series team owner) and his teammates.

Montoya raced along side Charlie Kimball, Memo Rojas, and Scott Pruett. Rojas and Pruett will race for the championship this season, while Montoya will compete full time in the Sprint Cup Series and Kemball in the IndyCar Series, all of course for Ganassi and Felix Sabates.

For Pruett this was his fifth victory at the Rolex 24 of Daytona, tying him with Hurley Haywood for the most victories in the Rolex 24.

“Having gotten to know Hurley real well over the years by racing with him and just as a friend, and to have him there at the end was pretty special,” Pruett said.

Defending champions of the Rolex 24, Michael Shank Racing (which includes NASCAR driver AJ Allmendinger) came in third after battling back several laps to get back on the lead lap. Allmendinger again completed the races final laps for the team. Just came about forty seconds short of the glory.

The Audi Sport Customer Racing/ AJR team powered by the likes of Felipe Albuquerque, Oliver Jarvis, Edoardo Mortara, and Dion Von Moltke took home the grand prize for the GT class.

In the GX class, the overall winner was Napleton Racing. Their winning team was driven by Nelson Canache, David Donohue, Shane Lewis, and Jim Norman.

Tags: Chip Ganassi Daytona International Speedway Juan Pablo Montoya Rolex 24 At Daytona Scott Pruett

comments powered by Disqus