Mar. 1, 2013; Avondale, AZ, USA; NASCAR Mexico Series driver Abraham Calderon celebrates after winning the Toyota 120 at Phoenix International Raceway. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Abraham Calderon Wins NASCAR Mexico Race At Phoenix

On Friday night at Phoenix International Raceway, Abraham Calderon won the series opener in the NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series. The race was 75 laps and was the first race ever in the series to be run outside of Mexico. Former champion Antonio Perez finished second and 17 year old Ruben Garcia jr placed third.The race ran the first 50 laps then had a break and then a final 25 lap sprint to the finsih. Calderon said after the race

I hope going forward I can keep providing these kinds of results. It’s all about the championship, being able to hoist the championship trophy at the end of the season. This is a good start and I’m looking forward to that.”

NASCAR became the sanctioning body of what was then called the NASCAR Mexico Corona Series in 2007. The name was replaced with the Toyota series in 2012. There are 13 tracks in 11 venues all across Mexico. Although Toyota is the series name it is not the only manufacture in the series. Phoenix was the first of 15 races for the series. The race was not shown on T.V.

I am not understanding the reason behind having a NASCAR Mexico race in America. America already has many NASCAR series run throughout the country. If NASCAR is trying to get new fans into the sport from another country then that is like a last ditch effort to get new fans. Although there are probably many NASCAR fans in Mexico and its great to see them have a series they should not be racing in the United States because that would defeat the purpose of the Mexico in the series name. I’m aware that NASCAR has raced in Canada and Mexico in the Nationwide Series in the past but, they don’t race in either one now. It is still great exposure for the series.

NASCAR Mexico series is slowly growing and will continue to grow for a while. Maybe someday a champion from the Mexico series will become a champion in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.


Tags: Mexico NASCAR Phoenix

comments powered by Disqus