October 28, 2012; Martinsville, VA USA; A general view as NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers race during the Tums Fast Relief 500 at Martinsville Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Sam Sharpe-USA TODAY Sports

NASCAR Notebook: Martinsville Speedway

Editor’s Note: NASCAR’s Media site has provided some interesting notes and facts about this weekend’s race at Martinsville Speedway for the media to use. It was too interesting not to just share with you guys! Hope you enjoy and remember all information is courtesy of NASCARmedia.com!

Opened in September 1947 by H. Clay Earles, Martinsville, originally a dirt track, is one of the oldest continuously-operating race tracks in the United States.

The first NASCAR-sanctioned race at Martinsville was on July 4, 1948.

The track was paved in 1955.

The first 500-lap event at Martinsville was in 1956.

There have been 128 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Martinsville Speedway, one in the inaugural year and two races per year since 1950.

NASCAR Hall of Famer Richard Petty has the all-time most NASCAR Sprint Cup starts at Martinsville with 67 starts; Terry Labonte has the most among active drivers with 53.

57 drivers have Coors Light poles at Martinsville, led by NASCAR Hall of Famer Darrell Waltrip with eight; Jeff Gordon leads all active drivers with seven.

47 different drivers have won at Martinsville Speedway, led by Richard Petty (15); Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson lead the series among active drivers with seven wins each.

23 drivers have multiple wins at Martinsville Speedway only five active drivers have multiple wins:  Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson (seven); Denny Hamlin (four); Tony Stewart (three) and Mark Martin (two).

Hendrick Motorsports and Petty Enterprises are tied for the lead in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series for the most wins at Martinsville Speedway with 19 each.

20 of 128 races at Martinsville Speedway have been won from the Coors Light pole; six of those 20 wins came from active drivers: Tony Stewart (2000), Jeff Gordon (2003 twice), Jimmie Johnson (2008, 2012) and Denny Hamlin (2010).

The deepest in the field that a race winner has started was 36th, by Kurt Busch in the fall of 2002.

Jeff Gordon has participated in the most NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Martinsville Speedway without a DNF (40).

Terry Labonte leads the series with the most NASCAR Sprint Cup starts at Martinsville Speedway without visiting Victory Lane at 53.

This weekend will be Danica Patrick’s first attempt at Martinsville Speedway. If she makes the event, she will become the first female driver to compete at Martinsville in the NASCAR Sprint Cup.

Tags: Camping World Truck Series Martinsville Speedway NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

comments powered by Disqus