This is the logo for the NASCAR Hall of Fame which is located in Charlotte, North Carolina.

25 Nominees For 2014 NASCAR Hall of Fame Announced

The NASCAR Hall of Fame has become a major part of the sport and so far, 20 men have made their way in. They announced the 25 nominees for 2014 on the Wednesday night edition of the NASCAR Race Hub. 20 of them we already knew about but 5 new names were added to the list; keep reading to find out who!

– Red Byron

– Richard Childress

– Jerry Cook

– Henry C. Earles

– Tim Flock

– Ray Fox

– Anne B. France

– Rick Hendrick

– Jack Ingram

– Bobby Isaac

– Fred Lorenzen

– Raymond Parks

– Benny Parsons

– Les Richter

– Fireball Roberts

– T. Wayne Robertson

– Wendell Scott

– Ralph Seagraves

– Curtis Turner

– Joe Weatherly

Bruton Smith

Maurice Petty

Dale Jarrett

Rex White

Larry Phillips


The five names highlighted in bold are the new ones added to the list of 25 nominees. I think adding Maurice to the list is very interesting and shows that they would not look past putting famous engine builders into the HOF. With that being said, Randy Dorton who played a major factor in the current success of Hendrick Motorsports as chief engine builder will definitely be a future member of the NASCAR HOF. He was tragically killed in the Hendrick plane crash back in 2004. I am not surprised to see Dale make the list but seeing Bruton does surprise me not because he isn’t worthy but simply because I overlooked him.

Rex like Dale Jarrett is no surprise either. They are both great drivers and champions of our sport that are more than deserving of a HOF induction in the future. The 5th one is a big surprise and I can honestly say that I didn’t know this man until tonight. His name is Larry Phillips and he is a mid-west racing legend much like Richie Evans is to us New Yorkers. He scored somewhere between 1000 and 2000 wins and over 200 of them were NASCAR sanctioned races in minor divisions.

The Nominating committee is made up of the following:

NASCAR Hall of Fame: Executive Director Winston Kelley; Historian Buz McKim.

NASCAR Officials: Chairman/CEO Brian France; Vice Chairman Jim France; President Mike Helton; Vice President of Competition Robin Pemberton; Senior Vice President of Racing Operations Steve O’Donnell; Competition Administrator Jerry Cook; former Senior Vice President Paul Brooks; former Vice President Ken Clapp.

Track Owners/Operators: International Speedway Corporation CEO Lesa Kennedy; Martinsville Speedway President Clay Campbell; Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage; Atlanta Motor Speedway President Ed Clark; former Indianapolis Motor Speedway President Tony George; Dover Motorsports CEO Denis McGlynn; Pocono Raceway board of director member Looie McNally; Bowman Gray Stadium operator Dale Pinilis; Riverhead Raceway operators Jim and Barbara Cromarty (1 vote); Rockford Speedway owner Jody Deery; Kingsport Speedway Operator Robert Pressley.

When it comes to who will make up the next class, my picks are Benny Parsons, Raymond Parks, Tim Flock, Fireball Roberts and modified legend, Jerry Cook. After seeing the updated list, I wouldn’t be surprised to see Dale Jarrett make it in considering they like to mix up the classes with older and more current members of the sport. Thanks for reading and feel free to let me know who your five picks are for the next class!


Tags: Hall Of Fame NASCAR Nascar Hall Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus