Kyle Busch (right) & Kurt Busch (left) talk before a race at Richmond International Raceway. Credit: Getty Images

The Busch Brothers Sweep The Front Row for the NRA 500!

Aric Almirola held the top spot in qualifying for a while before Kurt Busch came out and posted a blistering lap at 195.688mph. He tried to hold on but it wasn’t enough to stop his little brother. Kyle “Rowdy” Busch stole the show posting a new track record of 196.299mph! It is his 12th career NSCS pole and his first at Texas Motor Speedway. Kurt’s 2nd place effort is his best since Dover back in 2011.

Richard Petty Motorsports took the second row with Almirola 3rd and Marcos Ambrose 4th. Martin Truex Jr. qualified 5th followed by Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon, Carl Edwards and Juan Pablo Montoya rounding out the top 10. Danica Patrick was visibly frustrated after her qualifying effort which is understandable considering she will start outside the top 40. Scott Speed and Scott Riggs are the two drivers that missed the race and will have to go home.

Greg Biffle is considered one of the favorites to win when we come to Texas but he has a long way to go if he wants to get to the front tomorrow night after qualifying 35th. Brian Vickers is filling in for the injured Denny Hamlin and will start the NRA 500 from the 15th position out-qualifying teammate and 2x Texas winner, Matt Kenseth. The race can be seen live on your local fox station Saturday night at 7pm est.

Tags: Kurt Busch Kyle Busch NASCAR NRA 500 Sprint Cup Series Texas Motor Speedway

comments powered by Disqus