Sebastian Vettel leads the 2013 Bahrain Grand Prix with a very comfortable lead over the Lotus of Kimi Raikkonen. Credit: Getty Images

Sebastian Vettel Dominates in Bahrain

After a hectic first few laps, Sebastian Vettel was able to take the lead from pole sitter Nico Rosberg and drive away. Nico fought valiantly but just three laps into the event, the 3x World Champion drove by followed by Fernando Alonso and Paul Di Resta. Vettel would never look back as he cruised to victory for the second year in a row at Bahrain. It is the 28th career win for the German which breaks the tie he had with Jackie Stewart for 6th on the all-time wins list. Lotus rounded out the rest of the podium with Kimi Raikkonen 2nd and Romain Grosjean 3rd.

There was a lot of contact early on including Adrian Sutil and Felipe Massa causing the Force India to cut down a tire. Esteban Guttierrez tried to make a pass on both Caterham’s and had his front wing chopped off forcing him to make an early pit stop. Giedo Van Der Garde slammed into the back of the slowing Toro Rosso of Jean-Eric Vergne ending Vergne’s day and severely damaging the front of the Sauber. Kimi Raikkonen also made slight contact with Sergio Perez causing minor damage to his wing but it obviously didn’t affect his performance.

It was an absolutely awful day for Ferrari with both drivers having multiple issues. Fernando Alonso had to pit twice after his DRS failed. The rear wing would not close and the crew had to manually shut it. Felipe Massa had a top 5 going until he suffered a puncture on lap 18 and lap 37. He was unable to score any points finishing 15th which hasn’t happened in 14 races. Alonso rebounded to 8th and was actually making passes without the help of DRS. McLaren put both cars inside the top 10 which is a major accomplishment for them considering how much they’ve struggled in 2013. With 25 to go, Perez went on the attack against his teammate and the two battled fiercely for position. There was contact twice during the thrilling battle with Button pushing Perez off track and at one point, Sergio’s front wing made contact with Jenson’s right rear tire. In the end, the Mexican finished 6th with Jenson ending the race 10th.

The complete results can be seen below:

1.) Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)

2.) Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus)

3.) Romain Grosjean (Lotus)

4.) Paul Di Resta (Force India)

5.) Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

6.) Sergio Perez (McLaren)

7.) Mark Webber (Red Bull)

8.) Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)

9.) Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

10.) Jenson Button (McLaren)

11.) Pastor Maldonado (Williams)

12.) Nico Hulkenberg (Sauber)

13.) Adrian Sutil (Force India)

14.) Valtteri Bottas (Williams)

15.) Felipe Massa (Ferrari)

16.) Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso)

17.) Charles Pic (Caterham)

18.) Esteban Guttierrez (Sauber)

19.) Jules Bianchi (Marussia)

20.) Max Chilton (Marussia)

21.) Giedo Van Der Garde (Caterham)

22.) Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)

Sebastian Vettel continues to lead the standings with Kimi Raikkonen 10 points back and Lewis Hamilton 27pts behind in 3rd. The next Grand Prix will take place three weeks from now when Formula 1 visits Barcelona, Spain for the Spanish Grand Prix at the Catalunya circuit.

Tags: Bahrain Ferrari Formula One Kimi Raikkonen Sebastian Vettel Sergio Perez

comments powered by Disqus