Jun 8, 2013; Fort Worth, TX, USA; IndyCar Series driver Ryan Hunter-Reay (1) is interviewed after finishing second in the Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

Ryan Hunter-Reay Wins Second Consecutive Milwaukee Indy Fest

IndyCar Release — Ryan Hunter-Reay, whose victory in the Milwaukee IndyFest last June was the springboard to claiming the IZOD IndyCar Series championship, repeated the achievement at the historic Milwaukee Mile.

The 32-year-old Fort Lauderdale, Fla., resident overtook race leader Takuma Sato on Lap 198 of 250 and went on to win by 4.809 seconds over Helio Castroneves.

Will Power finished third for his first podium of the season. E.J. Viso and James Hinchcliffe — Andretti Autosport teammates to Hunter-Reay — also were in the top five.

The last back-to-back winner at Milwaukee was Tony Kanaan in 2006-07, when he was driving for the Andretti team. It was the 47th IZOD IndyCar Series victory for the team and the fifth at Milwaukee.

Third in the standings entering this Father’s Day weekend race, Hunter-Reay heads into the June 23 Iowa Corn Indy 250 presented by DEKALB 16 points behind the front-running Castroneves. Hunter-Reay won at Iowa Speedway last year, and made it three victories in a row at Toronto two weeks later.

An electrical issue on the No. 25 RC Cola car ruined the day for pole sitter Marco Andretti, who entered the race second in the standings and led 61 laps early on. Following repairs, Andretti re-entered the race on Lap 137 and soldiered on to not lose any additional points. He is third in the championship (50 points behind) after placing 20th.

Race Results:

1. (4) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Chevy, 250, Running

2. (17) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 250, Running

3. (3) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 250, Running

4. (5) E.J. Viso, Dallara-Chevy, 250, Running

5. (2) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Chevy, 250, Running

6. (11) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 250, Running

7. (15) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 250, Running

8. (23) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 250, Running

9. (13) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 249, Running

10. (7) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 249, Running

11. (8) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 249, Running

12. (9) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 249, Running

13. (6) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevy, 248, Running

14. (20) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevy, 248, Running

15. (18) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevy, 248, Running

16. (24) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 247, Running

17. (21) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Honda, 246, Running

18. (12) James Jakes, Dallara-Honda, 245, Running

19. (19) Ana Beatriz, Dallara-Honda, 242, Running

20. (1) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Chevy, 176, Mechanical 

21. (10) Tristan Vautier, Dallara-Honda, 173, Mechanical 

22. (14) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevy, 152, Mechanical

23. (16) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 146, Mechanical

24. (22) Simona De Silvestro, Dallara-Chevy, 69, Contact

Tags: IZOD IndyCar Series Milwaukee Indy Fest Milwaukee Mile Ryan Hunter-Reay

comments powered by Disqus