Sep 1, 2013; Hampton, GA, USA; NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Kurt Busch (78) during the AdvoCare 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Liles-USA TODAY Sports

The Chase Contenders Are:

Well, it’s official! The 12 drivers in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship are as follows: (In Chase Points Order)

1. Matt Kenseth
2. Jimmie Johnson
3. Kyle Busch
4. Kevin Harvick
5. Carl Edwards
6. Joey Logano
7. Greg Biffle
8. Clint Bowyer
9. Dale Earnhardt Jr
10. Kurt Busch
11. Kasey Kahne
12. Martin Truex


Back and forth in the points all night, it came down to the last lap to finalize the Chase contenders. Martin Truex Jr and Ryan Newman tied for the first wild card spot but the tie was broken by number of second place finishes, leaving Ryan out of the Chase in his last season with Stewart-Haas Racing. Also missing the Chase is reigning Sprint Cup Series Champion Brad Keselowski and 4-time Champion Jeff Gordon.

Tags: Carl Edwards Clint Bowyer Dale Earnhardt Jr Greg Biffle Jimmie Johnson Joey Logano Kasey Kahne Kevin Harvick Kurt Busch Kyle Busch Martin Ruex Jr Matt Kenseth

comments powered by Disqus