Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

NASCAR: List Of Drivers Eligible For The Sprint Fan Vote

On Saturday May 17th NASCAR will put on the Sprint Cup All-Star Race which will take place at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Although this isn’t a points race, the 1 million dollar cash prize does usually tend to create some decent racing. If a driver doesn’t meet the criteria to qualify for the race they will have three opportunities to still make it. The first two of those opportunities will come during the Sprint Showdown. The drivers that finish first and second in the Sprint Showdown will earn spots in the All-Star Race later that night.

The final opportunity to get into the All-Star Race comes from the Sprint Fan Vote. For weeks now NASCAR fans have been voting for their favorite driver that isn’t eligible for the All-Star race. The driver that receives the most fan votes and isn’t already in the race will earn the final spot. The only caveat is that said drivers car must be in “racing” condition as deemed by NASCAR. For example, if Danica Patrick wrecks during the Sprint Showdown but wins the fan vote; she may not be allowed to enter the All-Star Race if her No. 10 machine is deemed to have sustained too much damage.

Here is a list of all of the drivers that are currently eligible for the Sprint Fan Vote.

Car Number
51Justin Allgaier
47AJ Allmendinger
43Aric Almirola
9Marcos Ambrose
7Michael Annett
21Trevor Bayne
77Dave Blaney
23Alex Bowman
15Clint Bowyer
40Landon Cassill
3Austin Dillon
38David Gilliland
30Parker Kligerman
42Kyle Larson
52Bobby Labonte
32Terry Labonte
35Eric McClure
95Michael McDowell
13Casey Mears
27Paul Menard
87Joe Nemechek
10Danica Patrick
33Brian Scott
93Morgan Shepard
36Reed Sorensen
17Ricky Srtenhouse Jr
83Ryan Truex
66Michael Waltrip
26Cole Whitt
98Josh Wise

The frontrunners would seem to be Danica Patrick, Clint Bowyer, Austin Dillon and Kyle Larson. Although I would put my money on Larson racing his way into the race and not having to worry about the fan vote. Other names to watch out for in the fan vote are AJ Allmendinger, Marcos Ambrose and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. All three of these drivers might just have more fans out there than you think. In the coming weeks I would not be surprised if there was a push to get Cole Whitt or Parker Kligerman into the race via the fan vote. Given the current state of Swan Racing, a good showing in this event might turn some heads and help both of these rookies down the line.

There are three ways for fans to take part in the Sprint Fan Vote. You can do so by visiting NASCAR.com, downloading the NASCAR App or visiting the special voting booths at NASCAR races. The winner of the fan vote will be announced live in Victory Lane following the Sprint Showdown.

Christopher Olmstead is the Editor of BeyondTheFlag.com on the FanSided Network. Follow us on Twitter @Beyond_The_Flag and “Like” us on Facebook.



Tags: Austin Dillon Danica Patrick Kyle Larson NASCAR Sprint Fan Vote

comments powered by Disqus