Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

NASCAR Pre-Race Primer: Aaron's 499 From Talladega

Every week Beyond The Flag will present the NASCAR Pre-Race Primer which will have a handful of fun factoids that will help you prepare for the upcoming race. This Sunday the circuit is heading to the Talladega Superspeedway for the Aaron’s 499.

The race can be seen live on FOX with coverage beginning at 12:30 PM ET. The green flag is expected to wave at approximately 1:14 PM ET. Last season David Ragan found his was to victory lane during this event. Given how the new chase works Talladega has some major chase implications. Let’s say a driver like Danica Patrick wins this race and finishes the season in the points where she sits currently, which is 29th. If that were to happen Patrick would make the chase. Anything can happen at this track and anyone in the field can win this race. Last week Joey Logano picked up his second win of the season and Jeff Gordon who ran second is the current points leader.

Fun Factoids about Richmond International Raceway:

  • Joe Nemechek leads all active drivers with four pole awards at Talladega.
  • Bill Elliott holds the record for most consecutive Talladega pole awards with six.
  • Bobby Hillan Jr. is the youngest Talladega winner (22) and Mark Martin is the oldest (52).
  • Dale Earnhardt Sr. leads all drivers in wins at the track with 10 while Jeff Gordon leads active drivers with six.
  • RCR has 12 team wins at Talladega followed by HMS with 11.
  • The deepest in the field a driver has come to win at Talladega was in 2000 when Jeff Gordon won after starting 36th.
  • Jeff Gordon is also the only active driver to win at Talladega from the pole position (2007).
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won the most consecutive times at this event (four) and five times overall.
  • Jimmie Johnson leads all active drivers with an average starting position of 10.125
  • Brad Keselowski leads all active drivers with an average finishing position of 14.200
  • There have been seven green-white-checkered finishes including last years spring race.
  • Brad Keselowski and Brian Vickers got their first Sprint Cup wins at Talladega.
  • Jeff Gordon leads all active drivers with the most laps led at Talladega with 843.
  • Joe Nemechek has never won at Talladega despite racing here 38 times.

The action on the track Sunday will be electric because most races at Talladega are. It will also be electric because of the fallout from Richmond last weekend. After punch Casey Mears in the face I don’t expect much from Marcos Ambrose and Mears since they are both on probation until May 28th. Brad Keselowski and Matt Kenseth might be a different story though. After intentionally tearing up Kenseth’s car after the race Saturday night I would imagine that Kenseth has had enough of Keselowski. Although I don’t think Kenseth  seek to wreck Keselowski on purpose, I do think he will move him at the end of the race if he needs to.

Be sure to check back with Beyond The Flag for Qualifying Results.

Christopher Olmstead is the Editor of BeyondTheFlag.com on the FanSided Network. Follow us on Twitter @Beyond_The_Flag and “Like” us on Facebook.

Tags: Dale Earnhardt Jr Jeff Gordon Joe Nemechek Matt Kenseth NASCAR Talladega

comments powered by Disqus