Jan 28, 2014; Charlotte, NC, USA; Hendrick Motorsports team owner Rick Hendrick (far right) poses with his drivers from left to right, Jimmie Johnson (48) , Kasey Kahne (5) , Dale Earnhardt Jr. (88) and Jeff Jordon (24) during the Sprint Media Tour at the Charlotte Convention Center. Mandatory Credit: Sam Sharpe-USA TODAY Sports

NASCAR: Half Of Team Hendrick Nominated For 2014 ESPYs

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Every year ESPN gives out ESPY awards during a special awards night. The ESPYs are given out to some of the worlds greatest athletes to recognize individual and team athletic achievement and other sports-related performances during the calendar year. This year half of Hendrick Motorsports will have a chance to take home an ESPY award.

It was announced this week that Jimmie Johnson and Dale Earnhardt Jr. will both be on the ballot for the 2014 ESPYs.

Johnson will have an opportunity to take home two ESPYs this year. Johnson is on the ballot for Best Championship Performance and Best Driver. Johnson earned the nod for Best Championship Performance by winning his sixth NASCAR Sprint Cup championship last season. Earnhardt Jr. is on the ballot along with Johnson for the Best Driver category.

Earnhardt Jr. and Johnson will have some tough competition in the Best Driver category. They two NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers will be joined on the ballot by 2013 NHRA Funny Car titlist John Force, 2014 Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay and 2013 IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon. Johnson will be joined in the Best Championship Performance category by David Ortiz who was the World Series MVP of the World Series champion Boston Red Sox, NBA Finals MVP Kawhi Leonard of the San Antonio Spurs and UConn’s Shabazz Napier.

This year the ESPY award ceremony will be held on July 16th and can be seen at 9:00 PM on ESPN. The host of this years event will be none other than Drake. One of the coolest things about the ESPY awards is that the fans are able to vote on who wins each award. If NASCAR fans want to see Johnson or Earnhardt Jr. take home an ESPY they are going to need to vote for them. Voting for the 2014 ESPY awards ends July 16th at 9:oo PM. If you wish to vote you can do so by visiting the official ESPY site on ESPN.

Christopher Olmstead is the Editor of BeyondTheFlag.com on the FanSided Network. Follow us on Twitter @Beyond_The_Flag and “Like” us on Facebook.





Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Dale Earnhardt Jr ESPN Espy Awards Jimmie Johnson NASCAR

comments powered by Disqus