Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

NASCAR: Brickyard 400 Results, Jeff Gordon Wins His Fifth

The first 20 laps of the Crown Royal/Brickyard 400 were calm. All 43 drivers were on the same pit strategy but then came the competition caution and a flurry of pit strategies. Kevin Harvick and Jeff Gordon were strong in the first part of the day. As the race went on Kasey Kahne became the most dominant car of the race on his way to leading the most laps. With 25 laps to go it seemed as though it was going to come down to Kahne and Gordon as they had a tremendous gap on the rest of the field. However with 21 laps to go a caution came out which forced the field to reset. Harvick pitted late with the likes of Johnson and Clint Bowyer hoping to makeup some spots on those who did not pit.

With 17 laps to go Gordon was able to power around Kahne on the restart on his way to his fifth win in the Brickyard 400 and his second win of 2014. Here is the Unofficial Running Order of the Crown Royal/Brickyard 400:

  1. Jeff Gordon
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Matt Kenseth
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Kasey Kahne
  7. Kyle Larson
  8. Kevin Harvick
  9. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  10. Austin Dillon
  11. Ryan Newman
  12. Brad Keselowski
  13. Greg Biffle
  14. Jimmie Johnson
  15. Carl Edwards
  16. Clint Bowyer
  17. Tony Stewart
  18. AJ Allmendinger
  19. Brian Vickers
  20. Jamie McMurray
  21. Aric Almirola
  22. Marcos Ambrose
  23. Juan Pablo Montoya
  24. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  25. Martin Truex Jr.
  26. Michael McDowell
  27. Justin Allgaier
  28. Kurt Busch
  29. Josh Wise
  30. Landon Cassill
  31. Michael Annett
  32. Cole Whitt
  33. Casey Mears
  34. Paul Menard
  35. David Ragan
  36. David Gilliland
  37. Bobby Labonte
  38. Reed Sorenson
  39. Travis Kvapil
  40. Alex Bowman
  41. Ryan Truex
  42. Danica Patrick
  43. Trevor Bayne

What did you think of the race and Gordon winning his fifth career Brickyard 400? Be sure to comment below and let us know what you think. Also, do not forget to share your comments with us on Twitter and Facebook.

Christopher Olmstead is the Editor of BeyondTheFlag.com on the FanSided Network. Follow us on Twitter @Beyond_The_Flag and “Like” us on Facebook.

Tags: Jeff Gordon Kasey Kahne NASCAR

comments powered by Disqus