NASCAR: Martin Truex Jr. Win Southern 500 At Darlington

NASCAR took to the track Sunday night in Darlington where the throwback theme was in full swing. Kevin Harvick dominated early and Kyle Larson dominated late, in the end though it was Martin Truex Jr. getting to the front and getting the win.

One week after winning the first race of his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series career, Kyle Larson was looking to hit the track and win race number two. Kevin Harvick was the driver to beat early in the race leading more than 200 laps throughout the night. Harvick’s issues came on pit road at various points in the evening with his team costing him several spots on the track.

There was one pit stop where Harvick came in with the lead and came out 12th on the track.

The issues with Harvick opened the door for Larson, Chase Elliott, Martin Truex Jr. and others. Larson led several laps after to 100-to-go mark. A caution for Kurt Busch came with 38 laps to go and that allowed Ryan Newman and Brad Keselowski to stay out and try to make something happen at the front of the field.

With 20 laps to go Truex Jr. was on point with Harvick and Larson chasing from behind. With 19 laps to go Harvick and Larson found themselves five seconds behind the leader when a caution came out for a hard wreck by the No. 43 machine. With 17 laps to go the field hit pit road for the final time with Truex Jr. winning the battle off pit road.

The final restart came with 12 laps to go and Harvick and Larson battle quickly before Harvick took second and set sail to catch Truex. Luckily For Truex, Harvick could not get there and Truex won the Southern 500.

Unofficial Darlington Results

  1. Martin Truex Jr.
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Kyle Larson
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Matt Kenseth
  7. Kasey Kahne
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Chase Elliott
  11. Kyle Busch
  12. Austin Dillon
  13. Ryan Blaney
  14. Jeff Gordon
  15. Jamie McMurray
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Chris Buescher
  18. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  19. Carl Edwards
  20. Regan Smith
  21. David Ragan
  22. Clint Bowyer
  23. AJ Allmenindger
  24. Danica Patrick
  25. Casey Mears
  26. Matt DiBenedetto
  27. Michael McDowell
  28. Michael Annett
  29. Josh Wise
  30. Landon Cassill
  31. Reed Sorenson
  32. Aric Almirola
  33. Jimmie Johnson
  34. Kurt Busch
  35. Tony Stewart
  36. Greg Biffle
  37. Cole Whitt
  38. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  39. Brian Scott
  40. Trevor Bayne