NASCAR What If: The 2011 Chase Under 2015 Rules

6 of 8

Round Two Elimination

In round two of the chase Jimmie Johnson and Matt Kenseth each won a race with the third being won by a non-chase driver. After the second round four more drivers were eliminated and the top-8 moved on which can be seen below. The top-8 are arranged by how they were in points after the second round even though points reset before the third round begins.

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Matt Kenseth
  3. Carl Edwards
  4. Brad Keselowski
  5. Tony Stewart
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Dale Earnhardt Jr.


  • 9th – Kurt Busch (-2)
  • 10th – Ryan Newman (-4)
  • 11th – Regan Smith  (-19)
  • 12th – Jeff Gordon (-2o)

Jeff Gordon struggled in this round while Jimmie Johnson ran well. Earnhardt Jr. took the 8th spot in the third round but it would have been a close battle as both Busch and Newman were within four points of him.