NASCAR What If: The 2011 Chase Under 2015 Rules

8 of 8

Final Race – Homestead-Miami

Below are how the final-four drivers in the chase ran at Homestead-Miami and how the championship panned out.

  1. Tony Stewart – 1st place
  2. Carl Edwards – 2nd place
  3. Kevin Harvick – 3rd place
  4. Jimmie Johnson -14th place

In this season under the 2015 rules Tony Stewart still would have won the title. Edwards would have come up just shy of winning back-to-back titles and Harvick would have finished third in the standings yet again. Johnson would have been in the hunt which he was not in the real standings come the final race of the season.

If NASCAR had dreamed up this current chase system some 10 years ago it would have had an immediate impact on history as every champion from 2004-2010 would have been different with Stewart being the only one not to change. Be sure to check out the past years by clicking on the links in the first slide.

Be on the lookout for the 2011 edition of “NASCAR What If” sometime in the near future.