NASCAR What If: The 2012 Chase Under 2015 Rules

6 of 8

Courtesy of Getty Images

Round Two Elimination In round two of the chase Clint Bowyer was the only chase driver to win a race as Kenseth won the other two in the round.. After the second round four more drivers were eliminated and the top-8 moved on which can be seen below. The top-8 are arranged by how they were in points after the second round even though points reset before the third round begins.

  1. Clint Bowyer
  2. Kasey Kahne
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Denny Hamlin
  8. Kyle Busch


  • 9th – Tony Stewart (-1)
  • 10th – Joey Logano (-15)
  • 11th – Ryan Newman  (-21)
  • 12th – Dale Earnhardt Jr. (-71)

Earnhardt Jr. missed two races in this round of the chase and that was why he ended up being 12th in the standings. Once again Busch barely made it to the next round as he was only one point ahead of Tony Stewart.