Top 25 IndyCar drivers of all-time

Dario Franchitti, Scott Dixon, Will Power, IndyCar (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Dario Franchitti, Scott Dixon, Will Power, IndyCar (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) /
15 of 25
Will Power, IndyCar
Will Power, IndyCar (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) /

Top IndyCar drivers of all-time: #11 – Will Power

Will Power is another IndyCar champion who is also an Indy 500 winner, as he won the 2014 title and took the checkered flag in the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing” four years later. His wins total of 39 and counting is tied for fifth place on the all-time list, and it’s not too hard to see it climbing higher, perhaps even into the top three, before he retires.

Had things gone his way in the early 2010s, we could easily be looking at a four-time champion challenging for a top five spot on this list. Unfortunately for Power, things weren’t meant to be in 2010, 2011 or 2012, despite the fact that he led the championship standings after the penultimate race in each of those three seasons.

A crash at Homestead-Miami Speedway in 2010, pit issues at Kentucky Speedway in 2011 and a crash at Auto Club Speedway in 2012 handed the championships to Dario Franchitti (2010 and 2011) and Ryan Hunter-Reay (2012).

But in 2013, out of championship contention, he was able to win the season finale at Auto Club Speedway, and that ultimately kick-started his 2014 championship run, which he sealed at the same venue.

The fact that he hasn’t won a title since then is a bit surprising, given the fact that he has won multiple races each year except for 2015, due to his sheer speed. That speed has led him to climb to second place on the all-time pole positions list with 62, just five shy of Mario Andretti’s record of 67.

But inconsistency has plagued him in recent years, and his championship window may very well be closing.