Top 25 IndyCar drivers of all-time

Dario Franchitti, Scott Dixon, Will Power, IndyCar (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Dario Franchitti, Scott Dixon, Will Power, IndyCar (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) /
23 of 25
Scott Dixon, IndyCar
Scott Dixon, IndyCar (Photo by Robert Laberge/Getty Images) /

Top IndyCar drivers of all-time: #3 – Scott Dixon

Old-school fans won’t like the inclusion of a modern driver this high on the list, but what Scott Dixon has been able to do in what is arguably the most competitive era that the sport has ever seen has justifiably launched him into the top three.

Not since the four-year span from 2009 to 2012 has IndyCar seen more than two championships won in a row by somebody other than Dixon, and yet he somehow hasn’t yet managed to win back-to-back titles.

IndyCar’s Tom Brady is now the only driver to win more than four championships aside from seven-time champion A.J. Foyt, and he is up to six after winning the 2020 title and doing it in dominant fashion, leading the championship standings after all 14 races on the schedule.

He is set to enter the 2021 season with four championships in the last eight seasons, three in the last six and two in the last three as he seeks to tie Foyt’s record with what would be his first successful title defense. He also now has 50 wins to his name, a total that ranks third on the all-time list and just two shy of second place.

The only knock against him is the fact that he still has only won the Indy 500 once, and he hasn’t won it since back in 2008. He has come close several times since then. In fact, he dominated the 2020 race, only to fall short to Takuma Sato following a late pass for the lead. He ultimately finished in second place, where he had finished twice before.

But let’s be realistic; when “only” winning the Indy 500 once is a knock on a driver, there’s not much to complain about.