Top 25 IndyCar drivers of all-time

Dario Franchitti, Scott Dixon, Will Power, IndyCar (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Dario Franchitti, Scott Dixon, Will Power, IndyCar (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) /
8 of 25
Indy 500, IndyCar
Borg Warner trophy, Indy 500, IndyCar (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) /

Top IndyCar drivers of all-time: #18 – Ted Horn

When it comes to the greatest driver to never win the Indy 500, that discussion usually leads to Michael Andretti and the “Andretti Curse”, given the fact that Andretti, a champion of the sport, ranks fourth place on the all-time wins list and has led more laps in the Indy 500 than all but 10 other drivers.

But Ted Horn should be in that discussion when you look at everything he accomplished throughout his career in the 1930s and 1940s.

Horn’s career ended with 24 victories, and his wins came in quite an interesting way. He secured 19 of them, tops in the series by one win over 1949 Indy 500 winner Bill Holland, in his 1946 AAA Championship Car title-winning season. Unfortunately for him, only six of those races are officially listed as “Champ Car” in the 1946 schedule.

Horn didn’t win any of those six races, but he won the championship, as he finished no lower than sixth place in any of them. His average finish was 3.33.

As for the Indy 500 itself, Horn’s three championships are the most for a driver who never managed to win the race, and his 24 wins rank third among drivers who never won it — and yes, that includes 2002 non-winner Paul Tracy.

However, he was still one of the best drivers Indianapolis Motor Speedway has ever seen. In 1934, he failed to qualify for the race. In 1935, he finished in 16th place. Then in his final nine starts in the race over the next 13 years, he finished between second and fourth every single time.