Indy 500: Ranking all 34 drivers, from No. 34 to No. 1

Marcus Ericsson, Chip Ganassi Racing, Indy 500, IndyCar (Photo by Justin Casterline/Getty Images)
Marcus Ericsson, Chip Ganassi Racing, Indy 500, IndyCar (Photo by Justin Casterline/Getty Images) /
11 of 12
Marcus Ericsson, Tony Kanaan, IndyCar, Indy 500
Marcus Ericsson, Tony Kanaan, Chip Ganassi Racing, IndyCar, Indy 500 (Photo by Justin Casterline/Getty Images) /

Indy 500 rankings: No. 6 – Tony Kanaan

Tony Kanaan has one more chance to become the 21st driver to win the Indy 500 more than once, and it comes 10 years after finally breaking through and winning it for the first time in his 12th attempt.

After finishing in third place in a one-off entry for Chip Ganassi Racing a year ago, there is no reason to believe that he isn’t capable of doing the same — or perhaps two spots better — in a one-off entry for Arrow McLaren, the only other team to finish in the top four last year.

Indy 500 rankings: No. 5 – Helio Castroneves

In a year when Meyer Shank Racing weren’t much of a factor in the Indy 500, Helio Castroneves still managed to back up his record-tying fourth Indy 500 win, which he earned in only his first start with the team as a part-time driver, with a solid seventh place finish.

Based on what we saw in testing, Castroneves should have a very good chance to become the first driver to win the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing” for a fifth time.

Indy 500 rankings: No. 4 – Marcus Ericsson

Marcus Ericsson may deserve to at least be in the top three as the reigning champion of this race, but as we’ve seen throughout the race’s history, it is very hard to win it two years in a row. It has only been done five times in the 106-year history of the race, and it hasn’t been done since Helio Castroneves pulled it off in 2001 and 2002.

Still, his consistency and much improved ability to avoid making key mistakes makes him a threat to win anywhere, and these very traits were what allowed him to get to the front, consistently run at the front, and stay at the front in 2022 as others faltered.