Formula 1: Which NFL team does Lewis Hamilton own?

Russell Wilson, Denver Broncos, NFL, Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, Formula 1 (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images)
Russell Wilson, Denver Broncos, NFL, Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, Formula 1 (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images) /

Seven-time Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton is a part of the ownership group of the Denver Broncos NFL franchise.

Last summer, seven-time Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton jumped at the chance to become a part owner of the three-time Super Bowl champion Denver Broncos NFL franchise.

The new Broncos ownership group, led by Rob Walton, paid $4.65 billion to the Bowlen family to purchase the AFC West organization.

Hamilton was one of several individuals who joined the Walton-Penner group, which includes son-in-law Greg Penner and daughter Carrie Penner, to become part owners of the team. Other minority owners include Mellody Hobson and Condoleezza Rice.

Hamilton has long been an NFL fan, so he did not hesitate at the opportunity, and he quickly embraced quarterback and friend Russell Wilson’s (somewhat infamous) “Broncos Country, Let’s Ride” catchphrase upon his arrival.

Unfortunately for Lewis Hamilton, the franchise has found itself in a state of disarray since last season, much like the Mercedes Formula 1 team.

Hopes were high for the team looking to end what was then a six-year playoff drought when they traded for Wilson, a former Super Bowl champion (over the Broncos, ironically) from the Seattle Seahawks two offseasons ago, but they went 5-12 in 2022.

Much of the blame for the rough season was placed on first-year head coach Nathaniel Hackett, and even new head coach Sean Payton, for whom the team traded from the New Orleans Saints, criticized the now New York Jets offensive coordinator.

But Payton’s tenure with the organization has started in disastrous fashion, including a 50-point loss to the Miami Dolphins in which the Dolphins scored 70 points, the most for a single team in any NFL game since 1966. Ironically, the game was contested at Hard Rock Stadium, the site of Formula 1’s annual Miami Grand Prix.

Even last year, Denver managed to start 2-1, but they sit 0-3 this year, making them 5-15 since the new ownership group took over.

As for Hamilton, he is in the midst of a second consecutive winless season after opening his career with a record-tying 15 straight winning seasons. Mercedes have won just one race since the 2021 season ended, with George Russell taking the checkered flag in Brazil last November.

Next. All-time Formula 1 wins list. dark

Mercedes 2021 title rivals Red Bull have won 32 races during that stretch, with Max Verstappen having collected 28 of those 32 victories. He has stood atop the podium 29 times since Hamilton, the sport’s all-time winningest driver with 103 wins, most recently did so in December 2021.