NASCAR: 2024 Texas qualifying updates, full starting lineup

This Sunday's race at Texas Motor Speedway is the only race at the track on the 2024 NASCAR Cup Series schedule.
Texas Motor Speedway, NASCAR
Texas Motor Speedway, NASCAR / Sean Gardner/GettyImages

From 2005 to 2020, Texas Motor Speedway hosted one NASCAR Cup Series regular season race and one playoff race. In 2021 and 2022, the track still hosted two races, but the first was the All-Star Race; the other was still a playoff race. In 2023, the track only hosted a playoff race.

Now the four-turn, 1.5-mile (2.414-kilometer) Fort Worth, Texas oval is back on the regular season schedule for its lone race date of the year. For the first time since 2004, Texas Motor Speedway will not host a playoff race in 2024.

Sunday's Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 400 is scheduled to be a 267-lap race. Because the track is not considered a superspeedway, group qualifying is set to be used. In the single-car session, each driver is set to get one timed lap, with the top five drivers in each group advancing to the second round shootout for the pole position.

The groups are determined based on the qualifying metric that NASCAR introduced four years ago, a metric that was initially used to set full starting lineups in the absence of qualifying. A more detailed explanation on that formula can be found here.

All drivers from the first group who do not advance are set to line up on the outside row, while all drivers from the second group who do not advance are set to line up on the inside row, a slight change from last season.

NASCAR at Texas: Full starting lineup

1st - Kyle Larson, No. 5 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

2nd - Ty Gibbs, No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

3rd - Christopher Bell, No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

4th - Tyler Reddick, No. 45 23XI Racing Toyota

5th - Chase Briscoe, No. 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

6th - William Byron, No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

7th - Ryan Blaney, No. 12 Team Penske Ford

8th - Austin Cindric, No. 2 Team Penske Ford

9th - Martin Truex Jr., No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

10th - Bubba Wallace, No. 23 23XI Racing Toyota

11th - Denny Hamlin, No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

12th - Ross Chastain, No. 1 Trackhouse Racing Team Chevrolet

13th - Michael McDowell, No. 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford

14th - Alex Bowman, No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

15th - Austin Dillon, No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet

16th - Carson Hocevar, No. 77 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet

17th - Daniel Suarez, No. 99 Trackhouse Racing Team Chevrolet

18th - Zane Smith, No. 71 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet

19th - Chris Buescher, No. 17 RFK Racing Ford

20th - Joey Logano, No. 22 Team Penske Ford

21st - Noah Gragson, No. 10 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

22nd - Brad Keselowski, No. 6 RFK Racing Ford

23rd - Corey LaJoie, No. 7 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet

24th - Chase Elliott, No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

25th - Josh Berry, No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

26th - Ryan Preece, No. 41 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

27th - Erik Jones, No. 43 Legacy Motor Club Toyota

28th - Todd Gilliland, No. 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford

29th - Harrison Burton, No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford

30th - John Hunter Nemechek, No. 42 Legacy Motor Club Toyota

31st - Ricky Stenhouse Jr., No. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet

32nd - Justin Haley, No. 51 Rick Ware Racing Ford

33rd - Kaz Grala, No. 15 Rick Ware Racing Ford

34th - Austin Hill, No. 33 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet

35th - Kyle Busch, No. 8 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet

36th - Ty Dillon, No. 16 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet

37th - Jimmie Johnson, No. 84 Legacy Motor Club Toyota

38th - Daniel Hemric, No. 31 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet

Hendrick Motorsports' Kyle Larson is listed by FanDuel Sportsbook as the favorite to win Sunday's race. FanDuel is currently offering fans an instant $150 bonus for placing any $5 bet, win or lose.

NASCAR veteran scores first Joe Gibbs Racing win in 17 years – sort of. dark. Next. NASCAR veteran scores first Joe Gibbs Racing win in 17 years – sort of

Fox Sports 1 is set to provide live coverage of the Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 400 from Texas Motor Speedway beginning at 3:30 p.m. ET this Sunday, April 14. If you have not yet had the chance to begin a free trial of FuboTV, do so today and don't miss it!