NASCAR Cup Series: Full qualifying order revealed for Atlanta race

The qualifying order for the second race on the 2024 NASCAR Cup Series schedule at Atlanta Motor Speedway is set.

Atlanta Motor Speedway, NASCAR
Atlanta Motor Speedway, NASCAR / Sean Gardner/GettyImages

The 2024 NASCAR Cup Series season is set for a second consecutive superspeedway race after opening up with a rain-postponed Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway this past Monday afternoon/evening.

While Atlanta Motor Speedway is only 1.54 miles in length, it has raced much more like a superspeedway than a typical mile-and-a-half oval since its repave and reconfiguration following its two 2021 Cup Series events.

Sunday's 260-lap Ambetter Health 400 at the four-turn, 1.54-mile (2.478-kilometer) Hampton, Georgia oval is set be the fifth Cup Series race at "new" Atlanta Motor Speedway.

NASCAR Cup Series qualifying order: Atlanta

The qualifying order for superspeedway races is determined by four variables: the car's rank in the owner standings (35%), the car's finish in the most recent race (25%), the driver's finish in the most recent race (25%), and the rank of the driver's fastest lap in the most recent race (15%).

For drivers who drive the same cars from race to race, the second and third categories are effectively combined into one category which is weighted at 50%.

Group qualifying is not used for superspeedway qualifying. The fastest 10 drivers from round one advance to round two.

Here is the qualifying order for this year's Ambetter Health 400 at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

1 - B.J. McLeod, No. 78 Live Fast Motorsports Chevrolet

2 - Harrison Burton, No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford

3 - Carson Hocevar, No. 77 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet

4 - Austin Dillon, No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet

5 - Michael McDowell, No. 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford

6 - Joey Logano, No. 22 Team Penske Ford

7 - Brad Keselowski, No. 6 RFK Racing Ford

8 - Kaz Grala, No. 15 Rick Ware Racing Ford

9 - Todd Gilliland, No. 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford

10 - Ricky Stenhouse Jr., No. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet

11 - Daniel Suarez, No. 99 Trackhouse Racing Team Chevrolet

12 - Ryan Blaney, No. 12 Team Penske Ford

13 - Justin Haley, No. 51 Rick Ware Racing Ford

14 - Josh Berry, No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

15 - Ryan Preece, No. 41 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

16 - Tyler Reddick, No. 45 23XI Racing Toyota

17 - Josh Wililams, No. 16 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet

18 - Austin Cindric, No. 2 Team Penske Ford

19 - Chris Buescher, No. 17 RFK Racing Ford

20 - Ross Chastain, No. 1 Trackhouse Racing Team Chevrolet

21 - Ty Gibbs, No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

22 - Zane Smith, No. 71 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet

23 - Denny Hamlin, No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

24 - Daniel Hemric, No. 31 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet

25 - Chase Briscoe, No. 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

26 - Martin Truex Jr., No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

27 - Noah Gragson, No. 10 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

28 - Chase Elliott, No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

29 - Kyle Busch, No. 8 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet

30 - Kyle Larson, No. 5 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

31 - Erik Jones, No. 43 Legacy Motor Club Toyota

32 - John Hunter Nemechek, No. 42 Legacy Motor Club Toyota

33 - Corey LaJoie, No. 7 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet

34 - Alex Bowman, No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

35 - Bubba Wallace, No. 23 23XI Racing Toyota

36 - William Byron, No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

37 - Christopher Bell, No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

NASCAR fans try to start unnecessary Daytona 500 controversy. NASCAR fans try to start unnecessary Daytona 500 controversy. dark. Next

Tune into Fox at 3:00 p.m. ET this Sunday, February 25 for the live broadcast of the Ambetter Health 400 from Atlanta Motor Speedway. If you have yet to begin a free trial of FuboTV, do so today!