100 Top NASCAR Drivers Of All-Time | Best Of The Best

17 of 30
Bobby Labonte, Credit: Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports
Bobby Labonte, Credit: Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports /
Matt Kenseth (20) – Credit: Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports
Matt Kenseth (20) – Credit: Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports /

2003 NASCAR Champion Matt Kenseth has 39 wins that include many of NASCAR’s marquee races. He is a two-time Daytona 500 winner (2009, 2012) and he has also won the Coca-Cola 600 (2000) and the Southern 500 (2013). Kenseth is also the 2004 IROC Champion and won NASCAR Rookie of the Year in 2000.

Benny Parsons ran a total of 526 NASCAR Sprint Cup races over his 21-year career in the sport earning 21 wins, 20 poles and 283 top-10 finishes.The 1973 champion is also a two-time champion of the ARCA series (1968, 1969). The North Carolina native has won both the Daytona 500 (1975) and the World 600 (1980). Parsons has been inducted into the International Motorsports Hall of Fame in 1994 and the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in 2005 as well as won an ESPN Emmy in 1996. Ever the ambassador of Motorsports, Parsons starred as himself in both HERBIE: Fully-Loaded as well as Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby and inspired the famed ice-cream scene in the movie Days of Thunder.

Here is a great on board view of the Southern 500 in 1985 from Parsons’ car.

Hailing from Elmhurst, Illinois Fred Lorenzen has 26 wins, 32 poles and 84 top-10 finishes in his career. He won the World 600 twice (1963, 1965) as well as the 1965 Daytona 500. Despite his lack of entries in 1964 (he entered only 16 races that season), Lorenzen proceeded to go on one of the most dominant runs in NASCAR history by winning eight of those races of which five were in consecutive starts.

Bobby Labonte – Credit: Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports
Bobby Labonte – Credit: Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports /

2000 NASCAR Champion Bobby Labonte has won three of NASCAR’s most acclaimed races: the 1995 Coca-Cola 600, the 2000 Brickyard 400 and the 2000 Southern 500. In addition to his to his premiere series championship, Labonte won the NASCAR Xfinity Series championship in 1991 and the IROC championship in 2001. He has 21 wins, 26 pole positions, and 203 top-10 finishes in the Sprint Cup Series.

Considered the smallest NASCAR Champion, a five feet and four inches, White won the championship in 1960. He amassed 233 starts with 28 wins and 36 pole starting positions during his eight-year career in NASCAR. He finished in the top-five in nearly half of those starts and finished in the top-10 in 70 percent of his 233 starts.

Next: No. 25 to No. 21