100 Top NASCAR Drivers Of All-Time | Best Of The Best

24 of 30
Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports
Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports /

The Numbers

  • 1976, 1977 and 1978 Sprint Cup Series Champion
  • 83 Sprint Cup Series Wins
  • 4-time Daytona 500 winner
  • Inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2012

The History

Yarborough is a three-time champion in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. Yarborough won his titles in 1976, 1977 and 1978. He was also an IROC champion in 1984.

Yarborough won 83 races over his Sprint Cup Series career which spanned more than 30 years. Those 83 wins puts him one behind Bobby Allison and Darrell Waltrip who are tied for fourth on the all-time win list. Yarborough has won the Daytona 500 four times (1968, 1977, 1983 and 1984). Winning the biggest race in NASCAR in three different decades is not something to scoff at. Yarborough has also won the Southern 500 five times (1968, 1973, 1974, 1978 and 1982) and the Winston 500 twice (1978 and 1984).

The Legend

In 1993 Yarborough was inducted into the International Motorsports Hall of Fame. He is also a part of the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame (1978), National Motorsports Press Association Hall of Fame (1994), Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (1994), Court of Legends at Charlotte Motor Speedway (1996), Talladega Walk of Fame (1996) and NASCAR Hall of Fame (2012). Yarborough was named a three-time National Motorsports Press Association Driver of the Year (1977, 1978, 1979) and the 1977 American Driver of the Year.

Next: Boogity, Boogity, Boogity let's go to No. 6