100 Top NASCAR Drivers Of All-Time | Best Of The Best

26 of 30
Sam Sharpe-USA TODAY Sports
Sam Sharpe-USA TODAY Sports /

The Numbers

  • 1966, 1968 and 1969 Sprint Cup Series Champion
  • 105 Sprint Cup Series wins
  • 1976 NASCAR Triple Crown winner
  • 1976 Daytona 500 winner
  • Inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2011

The History

Pearson is a three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion. Pearson won his titles back in the Grand National days in 1966, 1968 and 1969. Pearson finished his NASCAR career with 105 wins which puts him second on the all-time wins list behind only Richard Petty. At one time it was believed that Jeff Gordon (92 wins) might pass Pearson but that is no longer the thought. To go along with his 105 wins Pearson also has 113 poles and 336 top-10 finishes.

The Legend

Pearson compiled all of his stats in only 574 races. With 105 wins in 574 races, Pearson was winning almost 20 percent of the races that he ran in. His 336 top-10 finishes also had him finishing in the top-10 in nearly 60 percent of the events that he drove in.

Some of the highlights in his career include winning the Daytona 500 (1976), Southern 500 (1976, 1977 and 1979), World 600 (1961, 1974 and 1976), Winston 500 (1972, 1973 and 1974) and the NASCAR Triple Crown in 1976. Pearson led the Sprint Cup Series in wins in 1966, 1968, 1973, and 1976. He also led the Sprint Cup Series in poles in 1964, 1968, 1973, 1974, 1975, and 1976. Pearson is a part of three Halls of Fame including the NASCAR Hall of Fame and he was named one of the 50 Greatest Drivers in NASCAR in 1998.

Next: The Fifth Title Proved Allusive