100 Top NASCAR Drivers Of All-Time | Best Of The Best

28 of 30
Randy Sartin-USA TODAY Sports
Randy Sartin-USA TODAY Sports /

The Numbers

  • 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2013 and 2016 Cup Series Champion
  • 83  Cup Series wins
  • 2-time Daytona 500 winner and 4-time Brickyard 400 winner
  • 4-time Sprint All-Star Race winner
  • 2009 AP Male Athlete of the Year

The History

Johnson is a seven-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion having won five consecutive titles from 2006-2010 and then his sixth title in 2013, before winning No. 7 in 2016. Johnson dominated the sport at a time when one could argue the quality of competition was at its best.

Johnson has won the Daytona 500 twice (2006 and 2013). He has also won the Brickyard 400 four times (2006, 2008, 2009, 2012), Coca-Cola 600 three times (2003, 2004 and 2005), the Southern 500 twice (2004 and 2014) and the Budweiser Shooutout (2005). Additionally, Johnson is a four-time winner of the Sprint All-Star Race (2003, 2006, 2012 and 2013) and he won the 2010 Prelude to the Dream.

The Legend

In 2009 Johnson was named the Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year. He also won Driver of the Year honors in 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010 and 2013. Johnson has 83 wins in his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series career which is currently good enough for a 6th place tie on the all-time list, onlyone win out of a 4th place tie. Johnson is also one championship short of breaking a tie with Earnhardt and Petty for the most in the history of the sport. Many believe that Johnson has a legitimate shot to reach eight championships if he races until he is 44 or 45.

If Johnson is to reach eight titles (or even if he stays at seven) he might end up finding himself on the top of this list when his career is over.

Next: Are you Intimidated By The Intimidator?