100 Top NASCAR Drivers Of All-Time | Best Of The Best

8 of 30
Joey Logano, Credit: Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports
Joey Logano, Credit: Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports /

Pearson won consecutive Xfinity Series titles in 1986 and 1987. He was also named the Most Popular Driver in the Xfinity Series in 1986. Pearson won 15 races in the Xfinity Series and finished his career with 129 top-10 finishes. He also ran 57 races in the Sprint Cup Series but was never able to win on that level.

Hutcherson came close to winning a Sprint Cup Series title in 1967 when he finished second in the final standings. Hutcherson only raced in the Sprint Cup Series for four years. In that time he ran 103 races of which he won 14 of them. Of those 103 races Hutcherson finished inside of the top-10 in 73 of them which is a crazy stat.

Cook is a six-time Whelen Modified Tour champion, winning all six of his titles between 1971 and 1977. In 1998 Cook was named to NASCAR’s list of the sports 50 Greatest Drivers. Cook is currently part of three different Halls of Fame however the NASCAR Hall of Fame is currently not one of them.

Here is a nice rundown of Cook’s career.

Joey Lagano – Credit: Marvin Gentry-USA TODAY Sports
Joey Lagano – Credit: Marvin Gentry-USA TODAY Sports /

Logano is currently in the prime of his NASCAR career. Despite 2015 being his eighth season in the Cup Series, Logano is only 27 years old. Logano has won 18 races in his nine Sprint Cup Series seasons including the 2015 Daytona 500. He is also the youngest driver to win in both the Xfinity and Sprint Cup Series. Logano won the 2009 Sprint Cup Series Rookie of the Year Award. 2014 and 2015 have proven that Logano is capable of winning a title, and in 2016, he made it to the final four of the Chase.

Yarbrough won the 1969 Daytona 500. He also won the Southern 500 and the World 600 in 1969 which made him the first driver to win NASCAR’s “Triple Crown.” Over his 12-year Sprint Cup Series career Yarbrough won 14 races and finished his career with 92 top-10 finishes. Yarbrough died at the age of 46 from injuries that he suffered from a fall.

Enjoy Yarbrough’s 1969 Daytona 500 win.

Next: No. 70 to No. 66