NASCAR: How Many Winners Will There Be Before The Chase?


Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

This weekend in Richmond will mark the quarter pole of the 2015 season. While the season might be 25 percent over, the regular season will only have 17 races left in it after this weekend. Through the first eight races of the season there have been six different winners. Those winner include Joey Logano, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Denny Hamlin and Matt Kenseth.

More from NASCAR

There are spots in the chase for 16 different winners but that doesn’t mean that there are going to be 16 different winners in NASCAR. With 18 races left before the start of the chase, the BTF crew gave their take on how many winners there were going to be after NASCAR hit Richmond for the second time this season. The crew also went one step further and predicted which drivers who haven’t won yet, will win before the start of the chase.

Below are the predictions for the rest of 2015.

Christopher Olmstead

I think that there will be 14 winners after 26 races when the chase begins. Logano, Johnson, Harvick, Keselowski, Hamlin and Kenseth have all won already (obviously) and some of them will most likely win again. Joining them on the winning side will be Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kasey Kahne, Jeff Gordon, Carl Edwards, Kurt Busch, Kyle Larson, Tony Stewart and Kyle Busch (assuming he returns in July).

Other drivers like Martin Truex Jr. and Jamie McMurray could win this season but I don’t see it fit to throw their names in the hat quite yet.

Joseph Shelton

Ultimately, there will a total of 12 different winners when we get to Richmond. Oddly enough, Martin Truex Jr. won’t be one of them, but David Ragan will be when he wins Talladega. Kurt Busch will also win one, as will Jeff Gordon, Kyle Larson, and Kasey Kahne. AJ Allmendinger will make up for last year’s Sonoma incident and sweep the road courses in 2015.

Just to recap: Ragan, Gordon, Larson, Kahne, Kurt Busch and Allmendinger will all win races before the chase begins.

Amy Marbach

I think there will be 13 different winners.

In addition to the drivers who have already won you can add in Martin Truex Jr., Kurt Busch, Jeff Gordon, Carl Edwards, Dale Earnhardt Jr, Kyle Larson, and Tony Stewart. The three remaining chase births will go Aric Almirola, Jamie McMurray and in a surprising upset Casey Mears will edge out a winless Kasey Kahne by just a point or two.

Mike Hutton

I’ll go with fourteen different winners.

The six that we already have plus Truex Jr., Gordon, Edwards, Allmendinger, Stewart, Kahne, Larson and Patrick. Yes that’s right, I think that Danica Patrick is going to win a race this season and when she does I promise that I won’t gloat too much.

John Harlow

12 winners will happen before the chase begins.

The six that are in plus Gordon, Kurt Busch, Newman, Stewart, Truex and Kyle Busch. Dale Earnhardt Jr. might win a race this season but I don’t think that it will be happening before the start of the chase, sorry.

Marco Venosta

I see 14 winners in the regular season: the above six guys plus Earnhardt Jr., Edwards, Kurt Busch, Stewart, Gordon, Jamie Mac, Newman and Trevor Bayne at Dega or the July race at Daytona.

And people said that RFR wouldn’t send a car to the chase, I have the faith!

What’s Your Prediction?

How many drivers do you think will win in NASCAR before the start of the 2015 chase? More importantly, which drivers who haven’t won yet will win before the chase? Be sure to comment below and let us know what you think. You can also reach out to us via social media and share your thoughts and predictions there.

Next: Don't Forget To Enter Our Weekly Caption Contest By Captioning Our Bristol Photo