NASCAR: Kansas race quietly set up to make history?

Kansas Speedway, NASCAR (Photo by Kyle Rivas/Getty Images)
Kansas Speedway, NASCAR (Photo by Kyle Rivas/Getty Images) /

The upcoming Buschy McBusch Race 400 at Kansas Speedway is the 11th race on the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series schedule, and as of now, it could be in position to make some history.

Team Penske’s Ryan Blaney overcame a late deficit to Hendrick Motorsports’ Kyle Larson at Atlanta Motor Speedway in last Sunday’s Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 to secure his first win of the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season.

The win was the fifth of Blaney’s career, and it made the 2021 season the fifth consecutive season in which he has secured at least one victory. It also made him the sixth driver to win one of the 2021 season’s first six races.

The 2021 season is just the second season since the 2003 season to feature different winners in each of a season’s first six races, with the other being the 2014 season.

This first-time winner trend could very well continue, and many predicted this level of parity with the 2021 season being the final season of the current generation car.

More from NASCAR Cup Series

In fact, the five drivers who combined to win 28 of the 36 races on last year’s schedule have combined for a whopping zero victories so far this season. Meanwhile, the 2021 season’s first six winners combined for just three wins last year.

If this trend does continue, the Cup Series could be in position to make some history when the Kansas Speedway race weekend rolls around on the first weekend in May.

The Buschy McBusch Race 400 (yes, that’s it’s actual name) is the 11th race on the 36-race 2021 schedule, and it is scheduled to take place at the four-turn, 1.5-mile (2.414-kilometer) oval in Kansas City, Kansas on Sunday, May 2.

It’s still quite a long way away, but if those four races see winners who haven’t yet won in 2021, a very real possibility considering who all hasn’t won yet, it would tie an all-time record.

And Kansas Speedway could break it.

The 2000 season started with a record 10 different winners in 10 races. Take a look.

  1. Daytona International Speedway – Dale Jarrett
  2. Rockingham Speedway – Bobby Labonte
  3. Las Vegas Motor Speedway – Jeff Burton
  4. Atlanta Motor Speedway – Dale Earnhardt
  5. Darlington Raceway – Ward Burton
  6. Bristol Motor Speedway – Rusty Wallace
  7. Texas Motor Speedway – Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  8. Martinsville Speedway – Mark Martin
  9. Talladega Superspeedway – Jeff Gordon
  10. Auto Club Speedway – Jeremy Mayfield

Dale Earnhardt Jr. ended that streak by wining the 11th race at Richmond Raceway.

Here’s a look at this season’s six race winners.

  1. Daytona International Speedway – Michael McDowell
  2. Daytona International Speedway road course – Christopher Bell
  3. Homestead-Miami Speedway – William Byron
  4. Las Vegas Motor Speedway – Kyle Larson
  5. Phoenix Raceway – Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Atlanta Motor Speedway – Ryan Blaney

Top 25 NASCAR drivers of all-time. dark. Next

The four races on the schedule before the race at Kansas Speedway on Sunday, May 2 are scheduled to take place at Bristol Motor Speedway (dirt) this afternoon, Martinsville Speedway on Saturday, April 10 following the off-weekend for Easter, Richmond Raceway on Sunday, April 18 and Talladega Superspeedway on Sunday, April 25.