NASCAR: Kyle Busch is still competing in the Truck Series

Kyle Busch, Richard Childress Racing, NASCAR (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Kyle Busch, Richard Childress Racing, NASCAR (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) /

Kyle Busch Motorsports’ switch from Toyota to Chevrolet isn’t keeping the team owner from making his usual five NASCAR Truck Series starts.

Kyle Busch’s most recent NASCAR Truck Series start with Chevrolet came in the 2007 season finale, when he drove the No. 51 Chevrolet for Billy Ballew Motorsports. That is set to change in 2023.

After switching his Kyle Busch Motorsports team from Toyota to Chevrolet amid his Cup Series move from Joe Gibbs Racing to Richard Childress Racing, the winningest driver in Truck Series history is set to continue competing in the maximum number of Truck Series races in which he can compete as a full-time Cup Series driver, a number that currently sits at five.

Busch is set to make his first start of the year in the season’s second race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Friday, March 3.

He is also set to compete at Circuit of the Americas on Saturday, March 25; Martinsville Speedway on Friday, April 14; Kansas Speedway on Saturday, May 6; and Pocono Raceway on Saturday, July 22.

He is set to compete with primary sponsorship from Zariz Transport.

Busch is set to drive the No. 51 Chevrolet in these five NASCAR Truck Series races, with Brian Pattie set to serve as his crew chief.

The move leaves the No. 51 Chevrolet without a driver for eight of the season’s 23 races, as Jack Wood has already been confirmed for 10. The team’s other truck, the No. 4 Chevrolet, is set to be driven full-time by Chase Purdy.

Busch is aiming to extend a 10-year winning streak in the Truck Series, one which is already an all-time record. After winning at least two races in nine straight years, it took him until his final start to find victory lane last season.

Next. All-time NASCAR Cup Series wins list. dark

The 37-year-old Las Vegas, Nevada native, who has competed in the Truck Series in each of the last 19 years but has never run full-time, has won at least one race in 17 of the last 18 seasons.