IndyCar: Full Sunday qualifying order revealed for 2024 Indy 500

After Saturday's Indy 500 qualifying session at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, 12 drivers are set to compete for the right to advance to the Firestone Fast Six.
Will Power, Team Penske, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indy 500, IndyCar
Will Power, Team Penske, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indy 500, IndyCar / Gary Mook/For IndyStar / USA TODAY

Saturday's full field qualifying session (full results here) for the 108th running of the Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway did not lack drama.

Positions 13 through 30 are solidified on the starting grid for next Sunday afternoon's race, but 16 other drivers still have something to fight for this Sunday afternoon.

The fastest 12 drivers from Saturday, measured by average speed over a four-lap qualifying run around the four-turn, 2.5-mile (4.023-kilometer) Speedway, Indiana oval, have advanced to Sunday's Top 12 qualifying session. The fastest six drivers in that session are set to advance to the Firestone Fast Six shootout for the pole position later in the day.

The slowest four drivers from Saturday are set to compete in the Last Row Shootout, where one will ultimately fail to qualify for the race.

Indy 500: Top 12 qualifying order confirmed

Unlike Saturday's qualifying order, the qualifying order for the Top 12 qualifying session was not determined by a random draw. It was determined by the reverse order of Saturday's results.

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports' Ryan Hunter-Reay is set to lead things off after he finished Saturday's session as the 12th fastest driver behind the wheel of his No. 23 Chevrolet.

Here is the full 12-driver order for this session.

1st - Ryan Hunter-Reay - No. 23 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports Chevrolet

2nd - Rinus VeeKay - No. 21 Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet

3rd - Pato O'Ward - No. 5 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet

4th - Takuma Sato - No. 75 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

5th - Santino Ferrucci - No. 14 A.J. Foyt Enterprises Chevrolet

6th - Felix Rosenqvist - No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing Honda

7th - Kyle Larson - No. 17 McLaren-Hendrick Chevrolet

8th - Kyle Kirkwood - No. 27 Andretti Global Honda

9th - Alexander Rossi - No. 7 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet

10th - Josef Newgarden - No. 2 Team Penske Chevrolet

11th - Scott McLaughlin - No. 3 Team Penske Chevrolet

12th - Will Power - No. 12 Team Penske Chevrolet

The fastest six drivers in this group are set to be lined up in reverse order to make their qualifying attempts in the Firestone Fast Six.

Unlike on Saturday, NBC is set to provide live coverage of all three Indy 500 qualifying sessions from Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday, May 19. The Top 12 session is set to lead things off at 3:05 p.m. ET, followed by the Last Row Shootout at 4:15 p.m. ET and the Firestone Fast Six at 5:25 p.m. ET.

Next. IndyCar fans could face a dilemma during Indy 500 qualifying. IndyCar fans could face a dilemma during Indy 500 qualifying. dark

Next Sunday, May 26, the race itself is set to be shown live on NBC beginning at 11:00 a.m. ET. Start a free trial of FuboTV and don't miss any of the action!