100 Top NASCAR Drivers Of All-Time | Best Of The Best

22 of 30
Tony Stewart, Credit: USA Today Sports
Tony Stewart, Credit: USA Today Sports /

The Numbers

  • 2002, 2005 and 2011 Sprint Cup Series champion
  • 48 Sprint Cup Series Wins
  • 2-time Brickyard 400 winner
  • 2009 All-Star Race winner

The History

Stewart is a three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion. Stewart won his titles in 2002, 2005 and 2011. Each title for Stewart came when the series had a different name (Winston Cup, Nextel Cup and Sprint Cup).

Stewart has won 49 races in his Sprint Cup career to go along with his three championships. Stewart is also a 1994 USAC National Midget Series Champion, 1995 USAC Triple Crown Champion, 1997 Indy Racing League Champion and a 2006 IROC champion. Stewart has won the Brickyard 400 twice (2005 and 2007), Budweiser Shootout three times (2001, 2002 and 2007), Prelude to the Dream three times (2006, 2008 and 2009), Gatorade Duels three times (2005, 2007 and 2012), Chili Bowl twice (2002 and 2007) and the Sprint All-Star Race (2009).

The Legend

Despite all of his accomplishments Stewart has never won the Daytona 500. He placed second in the biggest race of the year and he has won multiple time at Daytona in the summer. However, the Daytona 500 continues to elude Stewart. Stewart is also one of 26 drivers who have won in all three series. He has 11 wins in the Xfinity Series and two in the Truck Series to go along with his 49 Sprint Cup wins. A fourth title could make Stewart one of the five greatest drivers in the history of the sport.

In 2015, Stewart announced that 2016 would be his last season in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. In 2016 he won a race and made the Chase.

Next: No. 8 is the home of the second Petty on this list