Ryan Reed gets first Xfinity Series win at Daytona


Feb 21, 2015; Daytona Beach, FL, USA; NASCAR Xfinity Series driver Ryan Reed (16) celebrates winning the Alert Florida 300 at Daytona International Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

Ryan Reed claimed his first-career NASCAR Xfinity Series win at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway on Saturday, taking the checkered flag in the Alert Today Florida 300.

"“Four years ago, I was diagnosed with Type-1 diabetes, and I thought I would never drive a race car again,” Reed said. “I can’t describe the emotions and the feelings that go into the first win — so much hard work and sacrifice from all my guys.”"

Chris Buescher finished second, giving Roush Fenway Racing a one-two finish. Brothers Ty and Austin Dillon finished third and fourth, while Brad Keselowski rounded out the top-five.

"“We are proud that we were in it, and to have Cheez-It on board our Ford Mustang,” Buescher said. “It was fast all weekend. I was proud of the guys. They worked really hard, and we are not trying to dig ourselves out of a hole this year. We should be in good shape going forward.”"

Keselowski was leading the way at the white flag before losing positions to Reed, Buescher and Ty and Austin Dillon as Kyle Larson spun on the final lap.

"“We got shuffled back with about three to go, and I thought our race for the win was over, but when the wreck broke out on the last lap, Keselowski was left out on an island, and we got a massive run and set it up perfectly,” Reed said."

The biggest headline of the race, though, came in the form of a crash that involved Kyle Busch on lap 111 of the 120-lap race. After a hard impact with a portion of the inside retaining wall that isn’t protected by a SAFER barrier, Busch sustained injuries that included a compound fracture of his right leg and a mid-foot fracture in his left foot. He underwent surgery on his right leg Saturday night.

Before his wreck, Busch led a race-high 27 laps.

Series regular Regan Smith was involved in a separate incident, flipping his car twice.

"“Going straight, saw the wall, saw the air, saw everything except what I needed to be seeing,” Smith said, describing the ride he took during the wreck."

Only nine cars finished on the lead lap. Other drivers finishing on the lead lap included David Starr, Aric Almirola, Kyle Larson, Ross Chastain and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Full finishing order:

1. Ryan Reed (No. 16 Ford)
2. Chris Buescher (No. 60 Ford)
3. Ty Dillon (No. 3 Chevrolet)
4. Austin Dillon (No. 33 Chevrolet)
5. Brad Keselowski (No. 22 Ford)
6. David Starr (No. 44 Toyota)
7. Aric Almirola (No. 98 Ford)
8. Kyle Larson (No. 42 Chevrolet)
9. Ross Chastain (No. 4 Chevrolet)
10. Dale Earnhardt (No. 88 Chevrolet)
11. Dakoda Armstrong (No. 43 Ford)
12. Darrell Wallace Jr. (No. 6 Ford)
13. Mike Wallace (No. 26 Toyota)
14. Jeremy Clements (No. 51 Chevrolet)
15. Mario Gosselin (No. 90 Chevrolet)
16. Jeffrey Earnhardt (No. 55 Chevrolet)
17. Eric McClure (No. 24 Toyota)
18. Erik Jones (No. 20 Toyota)
19. Elliott Sadler (No. 1 Ford)
20. Blake Koch (No. 8 Toyota)
21. Chris Cockrum (No. 13 Chevrolet)
22. Derek White (No. 40 Dodge)
23. Josh Reaume (No. 97 Chevrolet)
24. Mike Harmon (No. 74 Dodge)
25. Brian Scott (No. 2 Chevrolet)
26. Kyle Busch (No. 54 Toyota)
27. J.J. Yeley (No. 28 Toyota)
28. Chase Elliott (No. 9 Chevrolet)
29. Brendan Gaughan (No. 62 Chevrolet)
30. Cale Conley (No. 14 Toyota)
31. Landon Cassill (No. 01 Chevrolet)
32. Joey Gase (No. 52 Chevrolet)
33. John Wes townley (No. 25 Chevrolet)
34. Justin Marks (No. 29 Toyota)
35. Regan Smith (No. 7 Chevrolet)
36. Chad Boat (No. 84 Chevrolet)
37. Scott Lagasse Jr. (No. 10 Toyota)
38. Ryan Sieg (No. 39 Chevrolet)
39. Daniel Suarez (No. 18 Toyota)
40. Dexter Bean (No. 92 Chevrolet)

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner