Duck Commander 500: finishing order


Apr 11, 2015; Fort Worth, TX, USA; Sprint Cup Series driver Jimmie Johnson (48) celebrates winning the Duck Commander 500 at Texas Motor Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

Jimmie Johnson led a race-high 128 laps of the Duck Commander 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway near Fort Worth on Saturday night, including the last 14 laps en route to his second win of 2015 and his fifth-career victory at TMS.

"“We just kept plugging at it and I think the off-week was good for us to sit down and relax, reboot and come back to the track and they brought me a fast race car that was good all weekend,” Johnson said."

When Johnson took the lead for good, he left Kevin Harvick and Dale Earnhardt Jr. to battle it out for runner-up honors. The two drivers traded the second spot back and forth several times before Harvick claimed his ninth top-two finish in the last 10 races, dating back the the final three races of 2014.

"“I just got behind there and Jimmie was fast for those last couple laps and got around us,” Harvick said. “I got loose coming off four and I got in the wall and just was trying to hang on to where I needed to be. I just have to thank everybody on my Budweiser/Jimmy John’s team for all that they have done and we just raced as hard as we could and it was a lot of fun.”"

By the end of the race, Harvick was credited with 96 laps led. Earnhardt finished third.

"“We weren’t as good as the 48 (Johnson) or the 4 (Harvick) early in the race, but we definitely improved it and Greg (Ives, crew chief) and the Nationwide team did a great job in getting it better,” Earnhardt said. “We have had that speed all year and it’s good to get a good finish in the bank because these last few weeks have been pretty rough, but we know what we are capable of.”"

Here’s the full finishing order of the Duck Dynasty 500:

1. Jimmie Johnson (No. 48 Chevrolet)
2. Kevin Harvick (No. 4 Chevrolet)
3. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (No. 88 Chevrolet)
4. Joey Logano (No. 22 Ford)
5. Brad Keselowski (No. 2 Ford)
6. Jamie McMurray (No. 1 Chevrolet)
7. Jeff Gordon (No. 24 Chevolet)
8. Kasey Kahne (No. 5 Chevrolet)
9. Martin Truex Jr. (No. 78 Chevrolet)
10. Carl Edwards (No. 19 Toyota)
11. Denny Hamlin (No. 11 Toyota)
12. Ryan Newman (No. 31 Chevrolet)
13. David Ragan (No. 18 Toyota)
14. Kurt Busch (No. 41 Chevrolet)
15. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (No. 17 Ford)
16. Danica Patrick (No. 10 Chevrolet)
17. Greg Biffle (No. 16 Ford)
18. Trevor Bayne (No. 6 Ford)
19. Aric Almirola (No. 43 Ford)
20. Austin Dillon (No. 3 Chevrolet)
21. A.J. Allmendinger (No. 47 Chevrolet)
22. Clint Bowyer (No. 15 Toyota)
23. Matt Kenseth (No. 20 Toyota)
24. Tony Stewart (No. 14 Chevrolet)
25. Kyle Larson (No. 42 Chevrolet)
26. Sam Hornish Jr. (No. 9 Ford)
27. Casey Mears (No. 13 Chevrolet)
28. David Gilliland (No. 38 Ford)
29. Brett Moffitt (No. 55 Toyota)
30. Chris Buescher (No. 34 Ford)
31. Michael McDowell (No. 95 Ford)
32. Landon Cassill (No. 40 Chevrolet)
33. Alex Bowman (No. 7 Chevrolet)
34. Matt DiBenedetto (No. 83 Toyota)
35. Cole Whitt (No. 35 Ford)
36. Mike Bliss (No. 32 Ford)
37. Alex Kennedy (No. 33 Chevrolet)
38. Josh Wise (No. 98 Ford)
39. Justin Allgaier (No. 51 Chevrolet)
40. Michael Annett (No. 46 Chevrolet)
41. Paul Menard (No. 27 Chevrolet)
42. Ryan Blaney (No. 21 Ford)
43. J.J. Yeley (No. 23 Toyota)

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner