Xfinity: Erik Jones Wins Dash 4 Cash Race at Dover

Randy Sartin-USA TODAY Sports
Randy Sartin-USA TODAY Sports /

It was another strong performance on Saturday afternoon by Erik Jones, claiming his second win and second Dash 4 Cash check in the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet 200 at Dover.

The Monster Mile has a history of tearing up cars, and burning through team money with repairs to their racecars. But on Saturday afternoon, Erik Jones would control the field in the main event, winning the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet 200 at Dover, and taking home the $100,000 check in the Xfinity Dash 4 Cash.

Heat races came to Dover International Speedway for the first time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, in the third of four Xfinity Dash 4 Cash races this season. These would help set the grid for the 120-lap main event, where it would be a battle between Joe Gibbs Racing and JR Motorsports. In heat one, Justin Allgaier held off Erik Jones for the top spot, and right to start on the pole. Then, Ty Dillon of Richard Childress Racing won heat two, ahead of Daniel Suarez.

During the main event, Erik Jones and JR Motorsports driver Alex Bowman would lead the field the most. Bowman, in his first start for Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s team, surprised many with his speed after not being in a car since November of last year. But in a race of comers and goers, Bowman’s long-run car was no match for Erik Jones on the short stint to finish the race. The finish would be notable in the final five laps, as both Bowman and Darrell Wallace Jr. would notch their best finishes of their careers.

Here are the full results of the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet 200 at Dover:

  1. Erik Jones, Toyota, Joe Gibbs Racing
  2. Darrell Wallace Jr., Ford, Roush-Fenway Racing
  3. Alex Bowman, Chevy, JR Motorsports
  4. Justin Allgaier, Chevy, JR Motorsports
  5. Ty Dillon, Chevy, Richard Childress Racing
  6. Elliott Sadler, Chevy, JR Motorsports
  7. Joey Logano, Ford, Team Penske
  8. Matt Tifft, Toyota, Joe Gibbs Racing
  9. Daniel Suarez, Toyota, Joe Gibbs Racing
  10. Brennan Poole, Chevy, Chip Ganassi Racing
  11. JJ Yeley, Toyota, Tri-Star Motorsports
  12. Blake Koch, Chevy, Kaulig Racing
  13. Jeb Burton, Ford, Richard Petty Motorsports
  14. Drew Herring, Toyota, JGL Racing
  15. Brendan Gaughan, Chevy, Richard Childress Racing
  16. Ryan Sieg, Chevy, RSS Racing
  17. Ray Black Jr., Chevy, SS Green Light Racing
  18. Ryan Reed, Ford, Roush-Fenway Racing
  19. BJ McLeod, Ford, BJ McLeod Motorsports
  20. Ross Chastain, Chevy, JD Motorsports
  21. Dakoda Armstrong, Toyota, JGL Racing
  22. Jeremy Clements, Chevy, Clements Racing
  23. Joey Gase, Chevy, Means Racing
  24. Garrett Smithley, Chevy, JD Motorsports
  25. Brandon Jones, Chevy, Richard Childress Racing
  26. Timmy Hill, Dodge, Motorsports Business Management
  27. Alex Guenette, Chevy, Obiaka Racing
  28. Mario Gosselin, Chevy, King Autosports
  29. Paul Menard, Chevy, Richard Childress Racing
  30. Travis Kvapil, Ford, Rick Ware Racing
  31. Ryan Ellis, Chevy, Rick Ware Racing
  32. Mike Harmon, Dodge, Harmon Racing
  33. Jeff Green, Toyota, Tri-Star Motorsports
  34. Carl Long, Toyota, Motorsports Business Management
  35. Derrike Cope, Chevy, DCR Racing
  36. Morgan Shepherd, Chevy, Shepherd Racing Ventures
  37. Josh Reaume, Chevy, RSS Racing
  38. Matt DiBenedetto, Toyota, Tri-Star Motorsports
  39. Ryan Preece, Chevy, JD Motorsports
  40. Justin Marks, Chevy, Chip Ganassi Racing

Related Story: Four Predictions For Dover On Sunday

The next race for the NASCAR Xfinity Series will come in two weeks from Charlotte Motor Speedway. Watch the Hisense 300 at Charlotte next Saturday at 2:00 pm eastern live on FS1.