Xfinity: Cup Drivers Dominate Hisense 300 at Charlotte

May 28, 2016; Concord, NC, USA; Xfinity Series driver Ryan Reed (16) spins in turn four during the Hisense 4K TV 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Jim Dedmon-USA TODAY Sports
May 28, 2016; Concord, NC, USA; Xfinity Series driver Ryan Reed (16) spins in turn four during the Hisense 4K TV 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Jim Dedmon-USA TODAY Sports /

The Xfinity Series race at Charlotte Motor Speedway turned into a Cup driver’s playground once again, with Denny Hamlin winning the Hisense 300.

The prelude to NASCAR’s longest race of the season, the Coca-Cola 600 for the Sprint Cup Series, happened on Saturday afternoon with the Xfinity Series in action from Charlotte Motor Speedway. The Cup Series drivers would dominate the Hisense 300 for NASCAR’s second division, and in the end Denny Hamlin would take home the checkered flag.

At the start, the race would get off slowly, with some extended caution periods in the first quarter of the race. But as the race wore on, it turned clean and green, with even a series of green flag pit stops for the field to cycle through. Denny Hamlin sat on pole for the race and led from the outset, but would have to battle with Kyle Larson early for the top spot. Joey Logano would join the fray at the front, setting up a three-way battle for the win.

Both Larson and Hamlin would bounce back from pit road miscues to contend for the win as the race headed into NASCAR’s version of overtime. Hamlin would be the benefactor of the restart, jumping from third to first, and fighting off a last ditch effort in the final turns by Larson, to win the Hisense 300. It would be the fifth win for the #18 car this year, and seventh for Joe Gibbs Racing in Xfinity in 2016.

Here are the full results of the Hisense 300 at Charlotte:

  1. Denny Hamlin, Toyota, Joe Gibbs Racing
  2. Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, Richard Childress Racing
  3. Joey Logano, Ford, Team Penske
  4. Cole Custer, Chevrolet, JR Motorsports
  5. Justin Allgaier, Chevrolet, JR Motorsports
  6. Kyle Larson, Chevrolet, Chip Ganassi Racing
  7. Brandon Jones, Chevrolet, Richard Childress Racing
  8. Ty Dillon, Chevrolet, Richard Childress Racing
  9. Brennan Poole, Chevrolet, Chip Ganassi Racing
  10. Brendan Gaughan, Chevrolet, Richard Childress Racing
  11. Jeb Burton, Ford, Richard Petty Motorsports
  12. Daniel Suarez, Toyota, Joe Gibbs Racing
  13. Ryan Sieg, Chevrolet, RSS Racing
  14. Blake Koch, Chevrolet, Kaulig Racing
  15. Garrett Smithley, Chevrolet, JD Motorsports
  16. Ryan Blaney, Ford, Team Penske
  17. Ross Chastain, Chevrolet, JD Motorsports
  18. Drew Herring, Toyota, JGL Racing
  19. Ryan Reed, Ford, Roush-Fenway Racing
  20. Jeremy Clements, Chevrolet, Clements Family Racing
  21. Dakoda Armstrong, Toyota, JGL Racing
  22. Ryan Preece, Chevrolet, JD Motorsports
  23. J. Yeley, Toyota, Tri-Star Motorsports
  24. Harrison Rhodes, Chevrolet, Obiaka Racing
  25. J. McLeod, Ford, McLeod Motorsports
  26. Martin Roy, Chevrolet, King Autosports
  27. Darrell Wallace Jr., Ford, Roush-Fenway Racing
  28. Elliott Sadler, Chevrolet, JR Motorsports
  29. Spencer Gallagher, Chevrolet, GMS Racing
  30. Carl Long, Toyota, MBM Racing
  31. Erik Jones, Toyota, Joe Gibbs Racing
  32. Derrike Cope, Chevrolet, DCR Racing
  33. Timmy Hill, Chevrolet, Rick Ware Racing
  34. Jeff Green, Toyota, Tri-Star Motorsports
  35. Mike Harmon, Dodge, Harmon Racing
  36. Joey Gase, Chevrolet, Means Racing
  37. Ray Black Jr., Chevrolet, SS-Green Light Racing
  38. Cody Ware, Ford, Rick Ware Racing
  39. Josh Wise, Chevrolet, RSS Racing
  40. Matt DiBenedetto, Toyota, Tri-Star Motorsports

Related Story: NASCAR: Four Predictions For The Coca-Cola 600

The next race for the NASCAR Xfinity Series will be the inaugural race for the series at the tricky triangle. Catch the Pocono Green 250, live from the Pocono Raceway, next Saturday afternoon on your local FOX station.