Xfinity: Kyle Busch Dominates at Kentucky

Jul 8, 2016; Sparta, KY, USA; NASCAR Xfinity Series driver Kyle Busch (18) celebrates after winning the ALSCO 300 at Kentucky Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports
Jul 8, 2016; Sparta, KY, USA; NASCAR Xfinity Series driver Kyle Busch (18) celebrates after winning the ALSCO 300 at Kentucky Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports /

Leading 185 of 201 totals laps at Kentucky Speedway, Kyle Busch won Friday night’s Xfinity Series race in dominant fashion.

With a new coat of asphalt and drivers ready for action, the NASCAR Xfinity Series took to the track on Friday night for the Alsco 300, as only the second race on the repaved Kentucky Speedway. And much like many races before, Kyle Busch would dominate the show, ending the night in victory lane.

Busch, who led 185 of 201 laps on the night, would have to hold off Austin Dillon and Daniel Suarez on the final restart in overtime to take the checkered flag. Dillon would come home in second after challenging for the top spot through turns one and two on the restart, but lost the top spot to Busch in three and four. Suarez would come home third, with Erik Jones and Darrell Wallace Jr. rounding out the top five.

Erik Jones had been angling to win the event and further solidify his top spot in the Xfinity Chase Grid. He led late in the going with just 26 laps to go, until he lost power to his car after an accidental flip of a switch. By not maintaining his speed under yellow at the time, he lost two positions and slipped to third.

Busch led a torrid pace at the front of the field, with a 112-lap green flag run helping him to leave only eleven cars on the lead lap at the end of the night, and many more multiple laps down. To many it will come as no surprise that Kyle Busch continues to dominate races in the Xfinity Series, further fueling the fire over whether or not Cup drivers should race in the junior division.

Here are the full results from the Alsco 300 at Kentucky Speedway:

  1. Kyle Busch, Toyota, Joe Gibbs Racing
  2. Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, Richard Childress Racing
  3. Daniel Suarez, Toyota, Joe Gibbs Racing
  4. Erik Jones, Toyota, Joe Gibbs Racing
  5. Darrell Wallace Jr., Ford, Roush-Fenway Racing
  6. Elliott Sadler, Chevrolet, JR Motorsports
  7. Ty Dillon, Chevrolet, Richard Childress Racing
  8. Ryan Blaney, Ford, Team Penske
  9. Brennan Poole, Chevrolet, Chip Ganassi Racing
  10. Brad Keselowski, Ford, Team Penske
  11. Brandon Jones, Chevrolet, Richard Childress Racing
  12. Justin Marks, Chevrolet, Chip Ganassi Racing
  13. Brendan Gaughan, Chevrolet, Richard Childress Racing
  14. Blake Koch, Chevrolet, Kaulig Racing
  15. Ryan Preece, Chevrolet, JD Motorsports
  16. Jeremy Clements, Chevrolet, Clements Family Racing
  17. JJ Yeley, Toyota, JGL Racing
  18. Dakoda Armstrong, Toyota, JGL Racing
  19. Ray Black Jr., Chevrolet, SS Green Light Racing
  20. Ryan Sieg, Chevrolet, RSS Racing
  21. David Starr, Chevrolet, RSS Racing
  22. Ross Chastain, Chevrolet, JD Motorsports
  23. B.J. McLeod, Ford, B.J. McLeod Motorsports
  24. Garrett Smithley, Chevrolet, JD Motorsports
  25. Travis Kvapil, Ford, Rick Ware Racing
  26. Alex Guennette, Chevrolet, King Autosport
  27. Joey Gase, Chevrolet, Means Racing
  28. T.J. Bell, Chevrolet, Obiaka Racing
  29. Ryan Reed, Ford, Roush-Fenway Racing
  30. Mike Harmon, Dodge, Harmon Racing
  31. Justin Allgaier, Chevrolet, JR Motorsports
  32. Cole Custer, Chevrolet, JR Motorsports
  33. Jeff Green, Toyota, Tri-Star Motorsports
  34. Todd Peck, Chevrolet, Rick Ware Racing
  35. Derrike Cope, Chevrolet, DCR Racing
  36. Dexter Bean, Chevrolet, King Autosport
  37. Morgan Shepherd, Chevrolet, Shepherd Racing Ventures
  38. Harrison Rhodes, Chevrolet, MBM Racing
  39. John Jackson, Toyota, MBM Racing
  40. Matt DiBenedetto, Toyota, Tri-Star Motorsports

Related Story: Five Drivers Likely to Win at Kentucky

The next race for the NASCAR Xfinity Series comes from the Granite State of New Hampshire. Watch the AutoLotto 200 from New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Saturday, July 16 live on NBCSN.