IMSA: Top 10 cars of all-time

(Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
(Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) /
1 of 5
(Photo by Pascal Rondeau/Getty Images)
(Photo by Pascal Rondeau/Getty Images) /

There have been plenty of great cars in IMSA over the last 50 years. Here is a countdown of the top 10 IMSA cars of all-time.

The International Motorsports Association (IMSA) is celebrating its 50-year anniversary this season. There have been hundreds of amazing race cars to compete in IMSA-sanctioned series since 1969.

Here is a countdown of the top 10 cars that have ever competed in IMSA.

10. Jaguar XJR-9

Debuting in the 1988 24 Hours of Daytona, the Jaguar XJR-9 took the overall victory. The car competed in the IMSA Camel GTP series throughout the 1988 season.

Some growing pains and mechanical issues led to no more wins for the Jaguar XJR-9 until the last race of the season. But the team still managed to finish in third place in the constructor championship that season.

The Jaguar XJR-9 also ran in European series, in which it had more success. The car won six races, including the 24 Hours of Le Mans, as well as the constructor championship and the driver championship in the 1988 World Sports Prototype Championship.

In 1989, the Jaguar XJR-9 was back in the IMSA Camel GTP series, but it was a little outdated by this time. It tallied one win on the season, and the Jaguar XJR-10 took over the Jaguar IMSA entry halfway through the season.

(Photo by David Taylor/Getty Images)
(Photo by David Taylor/Getty Images) /

9. Ferrari 333 SP

The Ferrari 333 SP raced in IMSA from 1994 through 2001. The car raced in the IMSA GT Championship and the FIA Sportscar Championship.

Over the course of these eight seasons of IMSA competition, the Ferrari 333 SP won the constructor championship in 1995 and 1998. The car also won the driver championship in 1995.

The Ferrari 333 SP debuted in 1994 at Road Atlanta, and it took the top four spots overall. The car tallied victories in some of the biggest sports car races in the country, including the 24 Hours of Daytona, the 12 Hours of Sebring and the 6 Hours of Watkins Glen.

Over the course of its lifetime, the Ferrari 333 SP won 56 races and a total of eight constructor and driver championships in two different series.