NASCAR: Kyle Busch reveals track for final 2020 Truck start

Kyle Busch confirmed that he is set to make his final start of the 2020 NASCAR Truck Series season at Texas Motor Speedway instead of Kansas Speedway.

After going from last place to first to win Saturday evening’s Baptist Health 200 NASCAR Truck Series race at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Kyle Busch confirmed that he is slated to make his fifth and final start of the season at Texas Motor Speedway, not Kansas Speedway.

Busch had already competed in the races at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Charlotte Motor Speedway and Atlanta Motor Speedway heading into Saturday’s 134-lap race around the four-turn, 1.5-mile (2.414-kilometer) oval in Homestead, Florida.

Busch’s initial Truck Series schedule included the races at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Atlanta Motor Speedway, Homestead-Miami Speedway, Texas Motor Speedway and Kansas Speedway.

The 35-year-old Las Vegas, Nevada native competed at Charlotte Motor Speedway last month due to the changes that were made to the schedule as a result of the coronavirus pandemic.

So the decision regarding his final start of the season came down to Kansas Speedway or Texas Motor Speedway.

Kansas Speedway is scheduled to host two races on consecutive days, one on Friday, July 24 and another on Saturday, July 25. The race at Texas Motor Speedway is scheduled to take place the week beforehand on Saturday, July 18.

He had been slated to compete at Kansas Speedway, but Busch’s decision to opt for the four-turn, 1.5-mile (2.414-kilometer) oval in Fort Worth, Texas instead of the four-turn, 1.5-mile (2.414-kilometer) oval in Kansas City, Kansas came down to one thing: the fans.

Fans will not be allowed in attendance at Kansas Speedway, while Texas Motor Speedway remains optimistic about the prospect of having at least some fans in the stands for the Vankor 350, despite the fact that Texas Motor Speedway is slated to host its race before Kansas Speedway hosts its races.

Next: Top 10 NASCAR drivers of all-time

The Vankor 350 is set to be broadcast live on Fox Sports 1 from Texas Motor Speedway beginning at 8:00 p.m. ET on Saturday, July 18.

Load Comments