IndyCar: Mid-Ohio results, standings – Will Power dominates

Will Power dominated the first race of the Honda Indy 200 doubleheader at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course for his first victory of the 2020 IndyCar season.

Moments before the rain started to fall, Team Penske’s Will Power finally secured his first IndyCar victory at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in his 12th attempt in dominant fashion after starting from the pole position in the first race of the Honda Indy 200 doubleheader behind the wheel of his #12 Chevrolet.

Power’s victory was his first win of the 2020 season, giving him 14 straight winning seasons at the highest level of American open-wheel racing. It was his first win in over a year, as he last won at Portland International Raceway early last September.

Power, who started from the pole position at the 13-turn, 2.258-mile (3.634-kilometer) natural terrain road course in Lexington, Ohio four times before today but could never seal the deal, was never passed for the lead on the track throughout this 75-lap race. He won it by 7.4523 seconds over teammate Josef Newgarden and is the sixth different winner through 10 races of the 14-race season.

Newgarden’s second place run behind the wheel of his #1 Chevrolet allowed him to take a sizable chunk out of the points lead held by Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon, who only managed to finish in 10th behind the wheel of his #9 Honda at a track where he is a six-time winner and won last year.

While Team Penske Chevrolet drivers swept the top two positions, Honda drivers took the next five positions and seven of the remaining eight top 10 positions. Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi led the way for Honda in third place behind the wheel of his #27 Honda for his second podium finish of the season.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal, Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay, Chip Ganassi Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist and Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey rounded out the top seven for Honda in fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh place behind the wheels of their #15 Honda, #28 Honda, #10 Honda and #60 Honda, respectively.

Ed Carpenter Racing rookie Rinus VeeKay finished in eighth place behind the wheel of his #21 Chevrolet ahead of Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport’s Colton Herta in ninth behind the wheel of his #88 Honda.

This race was the third consecutive caution-free race at the track and the sixth in the last 10 seasons.

Here are the full race results of the first race of the 2020 Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Race Results
1st – Will Power
2nd – Josef Newgarden
3rd – Alexander Rossi
4th – Graham Rahal
5th – Ryan Hunter-Reay
6th – Felix Rosenqvist
7th – Jack Harvey
8th – Rinus VeeKay
9th – Colton Herta
10th – Scott Dixon
11th – Pato O’Ward
12th – Alex Palou
13th – Conor Daly
14th – Santino Ferrucci
15th – Marcus Ericsson
16th – Max Chilton
17th – Takuma Sato
18th – Simon Pagenaud
19th – Oliver Askew
20th – Zach Veach
21st – Charlie Kimball
22nd – Dalton Kellett
23rd – Marco Andretti

Here are the updated championship standings following Power’s victory.

Rank – Driver: Points (Behind)
1st – Scott Dixon: 436 (0)
2nd – Josef Newgarden: 360 (-76)
3rd – Pato O’Ward: 316 (-120)
4th – Takuma Sato: 287 (-149)
5th – Will Power: 280 (-156)
6th – Colton Herta: 273 (-163)
7th – Graham Rahal: 268 (-168)
8th – Simon Pagenaud: 249 (-187)
9th – Felix Rosenqvist: 236 (-200)
10th – Santino Ferrucci: 232 (-204)
11th – Ryan Hunter-Reay: 225 (-211)
12th – Jack Harvey: 207 (-229)
13th – Rinus VeeKay: 205 (-231)
14th – Marcus Ericsson: 199 (-237)
15th – Alexander Rossi: 190 (-246)
16th – Conor Daly: 182 (-254)
17th – Alex Palou: 178 (-258)
18th – Oliver Askew: 166 (-270)
19th – Charlie Kimball: 159 (-277)
20th – Zach Veach: 153 (-283)
21st – Marco Andretti: 143 (-293)
22nd – Tony Kanaan: 106 (-330)
23rd – James Hinchcliffe: 88 (-348)
24th – Max Chilton: 82 (-354)
25th – Ed Carpenter: 81 (-355)
26th – Dalton Kellett: 47 (-389)
27th – Helio Castroneves: 38 (-398)
28th – J.R. Hildebrand: 28 (-408)
29th – Sage Karam: 19 (-417)
30th – Fernando Alonso: 18 (-418)
31st – Spencer Pigot: 17 (-419)
32nd – Ben Hanley: 14 (-422)
33rd – James Davison: 10 (-426)

The next race on the 2020 IndyCar schedule is the second race of the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, which is scheduled to take place tomorrow afternoon. This race is set to be broadcast live on NBC beginning at 1:00 p.m. ET.