IndyCar: 5 teams that still have open seats for 2024

IndyCar (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)
IndyCar (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images) /

Over one month into the offseason, the 2024 IndyCar driver lineup remains far from finalized. Five of the sport’s 10 teams still have confirmations to make.

The 2024 IndyCar schedule is set, but the driver lineup is far from it. Four of 10 teams — Arrow McLaren, Chip Ganassi Racing, Meyer Shank Racing, and Team Penske — entered the week having already solidified their full-time rosters for next year’s 17-race campaign.

That left six teams which still had at least one more driver lineup confirmation to make for the 2024 season, including two that haven’t made any announcements.

One of those six teams, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, confirmed that Pietro Fittipaldi is set to join Graham Rahal and Christian Lundgaard in their lineup next year, leaving only five.

Let’s take a glance at each of those five.

A.J. Foyt Enterprises

Santino Ferrucci was said to be in talks with A.J. Foyt Enterprises about returning for another year behind the wheel of the No. 14 Chevrolet, but nothing has been confirmed. Benjamin Pedersen was said to be on a multi-year deal with the team, but a rough rookie season has cast doubt on his future behind the wheel of the No. 55 Chevrolet.

Andretti Autosport

Andretti Autosport’s driver lineup might very well be set, with Colton Herta and Kyle Kirkwood set to return and Marcus Ericsson set to join the team from Chip Ganassi Racing as Romain Grosjean’s replacement. But there is still a chance for a fourth car, with Devlin DeFrancesco out.

Dale Coyne Racing

David Malukas has left the No. 18 Honda after two seasons to join Arrow McLaren alongside Pato O’Ward and Alexander Rossi, while Sting Ray Robb’s future behind the wheel of the No. 51 Honda is uncertain after a tough rookie season. Indy NXT driver Danial Frost has been linked to the team. Grosjean’s name has been mentioned as a possibility to return in the veteran car, and DeFrancesco is considered a candidate as well.

Ed Carpenter Racing

Rinus VeeKay is set to return for another year behind the wheel of the No. 21 Chevrolet, but the future of the No. 20 Chevrolet is uncertain. Ryan Hunter-Reay won’t be back after helping to elevate the team as Conor Daly’s replacement in the middle of the 2023 season.

There are several candidates to replace him, including reigning Indy NXT champion Christian Rasmussen, former IndyCar driver — and Indy NXT champion — Oliver Askew, and former IndyCar champion and Indy 500 winner Simon Pagenaud.

Juncos Hollinger Racing

Agustin Canapino is set to return for a second year behind the wheel of the No. 78 Chevrolet, but Callum Ilott’s future remains a talking point.

Next. All-time IndyCar wins list. dark

Even late in the 2023 season, he wasn’t clear on his contract status, and after the team’s relatively pathetic statement in response to the death threats he received at the end of the year, many believe he should move on to a more supportive — and competitive — team.