Who is racing in Tony Stewart’s new stock car series?

Tony Stewart, NASCAR (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Tony Stewart, NASCAR (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) /

The 2021 Superstar Racing Experience is scheduled to get underway this evening at Stafford Motor Speedway. Which drivers are competing in the new series?

Last July, three-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Tony Stewart, three-time Cup Series champion crew chief Ray Evernham, sports agent Sandy Montag and former NASCAR executive George Pyne announced the formation of the new Superstar Racing Experience stock car racing series for the 2021 season.

The schedule for the inaugural season features six races, with one set to take place on each of the next six Saturday nights. All six races are set to take place on dirt or asphalt short tracks. A total of 10 drivers, all of whom have competed in other racing series, are set to compete full-time in this six-race championship, with others set to compete in select events.

Must Read. The Tom Brady effect hits IndyCar. light

The series is set to visit Stafford Motor Speedway, Knoxville Speedway, Eldora Speedway, Lucas Oil Raceway, Slinger Speedway and Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway, respectively, over the next six Saturdays.

Stafford Motor Speedway, the 0.5-mile (0.805-kilometer) paved oval in Stafford Springs, Connecticut, is set to host the season opener this evening.

More from Motorsports

Fury Race Cars serves as the chassis designer and builder for the cars, and the cars use Ilmor V8 396 engines. The races are planned to last for roughly 90 minutes each, with live coverage set to be provided on CBS Sports in two-hour primetime windows on Saturday night.

There are set to be two 15-minute heat races before the feature, which is set to be 100 laps long at all tracks except for Slinger Speedway (150 laps). There will not be pit stops during the events, but there will be a designated “halftime” period for teams to make any necessary adjustments to the cars. So which 10 drivers will be competing full-time in the summer championship series? Here’s an alphabetized list.

  • Marco Andretti
  • Helio Castroneves
  • Bill Elliott
  • Ernie Francis Jr.
  • Tony Kanaan
  • Bobby Labonte
  • Paul Tracy
  • Willy T. Ribbs
  • Tony Stewart
  • Mark Webber

Here is a list of the other drivers who are currently set to compete throughout the season.

  • Doug Coby – Stafford Motor Speedway
  • Brian Brown – Knoxville Raceway
  • Kody Swanson – Eldora Speedway
  • Bobby Santos III – Lucas Oil Raceway
  • Slinger Nationals winner – Slinger Speedway
  • Greg Biffle – Stafford Speedway, Slinger Speedway
  • Stoff Bloomquist – Knoxville Raceway
  • Hailie Deegan – Knoxville Raceway
  • Scott Speed – Eldora Speedway, Lucas Oil Raceway

Next. Top 25 NASCAR drivers of all-time. dark

Tune in to CBS this evening at 8:00 p.m. ET for the live broadcast of the inaugural SRX race from Stafford Speedway.