NASCAR: 2022 Bristol dirt race – Full starting lineup

Cole Custer, Stewart-Haas Racing, Bristol dirt race, NASCAR (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Cole Custer, Stewart-Haas Racing, Bristol dirt race, NASCAR (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) /

The starting lineup for the second NASCAR Cup Series dirt race at Bristol Motor Speedway was set by four heat races on Saturday evening.

For the second year in a row, and all-time, Bristol Motor Speedway was covered in several layers of dirt for its spring NASCAR race weekend.

Last year, the starting lineup for the 253-lap race (extended from 250 due to overtime rules) around the four-turn, 0.533-mile (0.858-kilometer) oval in Bristol, Tennessee was set by the formula, as the four planned heat races were rained out.

Also. Danica Patrick's worst crash. light

This year, however, the heat races took place on Saturday evening, setting the starting lineup for this evening’s race.

This race is set to be the first race on Easter Sunday since 1989.

The starting lineup was set by a unique formula derived from the heat race results. Nine drivers competed in each of the four 15-lap heat races, and the starting lineups for these qualifiers were set by random draws.

A total of 10 points were awarded to the winner of each heat race, decreasing by one point for each position down to two points for ninth place. But drivers were also awarded passing points, depending on how many positions they made up during the race.

So while the polesitter may have had the easiest path to 10 points, he also would have been capped at 10 points, with no passing points available.

Stewart-Haas Racing’s Cole Custer took the pole position by finishing in second place in his heat race after starting in ninth. He scored a total of 16 points, including nine for his second place finish and seven for the seven positions he made up throughout the race.

Here is the full starting lineup for the Food City Dirt Race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Starting Lineup
1st – Cole Custer
2nd – Christopher Bell
3rd – Tyler Reddick
4th – Chase Briscoe
5th – Kyle Larson
6th – Justin Haley
7th – Ty Dillon
8th – Alex Bowman
9th – Chase Elliott
10th – Joey Logano
11th – Kyle Busch
12th – Austin Dillon
13th – Kurt Busch
14th – Erik Jones
15th – Chris Buescher
16th – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
17th – Michael McDowell
18th – Brad Keselowski
19th – William Byron
20th – Austin Cindric
21st – Daniel Suarez
22nd – Bubba Wallace
23rd – Todd Gilliland
24th – Harrison Burton
25th – Ryan Blaney
26th – Corey LaJoie
27th – Justin Allgaier
28th – Noah Gragson
29th – J.J. Yeley
30th – Martin Truex Jr.
31st – Aric Almirola
32nd – Kevin Harvick
33rd – Ross Chastain
34th – Denny Hamlin
35th – Cody Ware
36th – Josh Williams

Next. Top 25 NASCAR drivers of all-time. dark

Tune in to Fox at 7:00 p.m. ET. this evening for the live broadcast of the Food City Dirt Race from Bristol Motor Speedway. If you have not yet started a free trial of FuboTV, do so now!