IndyCar: 2022 Indianapolis qualifying – Full starting lineup

The starting lineup for Saturday afternoon’s IndyCar race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, the GMR Grand Prix, is set.

Following the first break of less than three weeks in the 2022 season, IndyCar is set to be back in action with the fifth of 17 races on the schedule this Saturday afternoon at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

The GMR Grand Prix is set to kick off a busy few weeks throughout the rest of the month of May at the Racing Capital of the World.

Knockout qualifying for this race took place on Friday afternoon to set the starting lineup for Saturday afternoon’s race, the first of two at the track’s road course this season.

Team Penske’s Will Power took the pole position, with Chip Ganassi Racing’s Alex Palou qualifying on the outside of the front row.

Power, now a six-time polesitter at the track, took the pole position for this 85-lap race around the 13-turn, 2.439-mile (3.925-kilometer) road course in Speedway, Indiana by recording a top lap time of 69.7664 seconds (125.854 miles per hour) behind the wheel of his #12 Chevrolet in the Firestone Fast Six qualifying session.

The pole position is the first of the season for Power, and it is the 64th of his career, bringing him to within three of Mario Andretti’s record of 67.

There were several surprises throughout the rest of the grid, including reigning race winner Rinus VeeKay of Ed Carpenter Racing qualifying in 15th place and six-time series champion Scott Dixon of Chip Ganassi Racing qualifying in 21st.

Here is the full starting lineup for the GMR Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Full starting lineup
1st – Will Power
2nd – Alex Palou
3rd – Josef Newgarden
4th – Conor Daly
5th – Pato O’Ward
6th – Felix Rosenqvist
7th – Callum Ilott
8th – Christian Lundgaard
9th – Jack Harvey
10th – Romain Grosjean
11th – Scott McLaughlin
12th – Graham Rahal
13th – Takuma Sato
14th – Colton Herta
15th – Rinus VeeKay
16th – Alexander Rossi
17th – Devlin DeFrancesco
18th – Marcus Ericsson
19th – Helio Castroneves
20th – Simon Pagenaud
21st – Scott Dixon
22nd – Kyle Kirkwood
23rd – Juan Pablo Montoya
24th – David Malukas
25th – Tatiana Calderon
26th – Dalton Kellett
27th – Jimmie Johnson

Tune in to NBC tomorrow afternoon at 3:00 p.m. ET for the live broadcast of the GMR Grand Prix from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. FuboTV is offering free trials to new customers, so take advantage and start yours now!