IndyCar: 2022 Laguna Seca qualifying – Full starting lineup

Laguna Seca, IndyCar - Mandatory Credit: Stan Szeto-USA TODAY Sports
Laguna Seca, IndyCar - Mandatory Credit: Stan Szeto-USA TODAY Sports /

The starting lineup for Sunday afternoon’s IndyCar season finale at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca is set following Saturday’s qualifying session.

The Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey is scheduled to bring an end to the 17-race 2022 IndyCar season on Sunday afternoon at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, and there are still five drivers mathematically in contention to win the championship.

One of those drivers, Team Penske’s Will Power, took the pole position for Sunday afternoon’s 95-lap race around the 11-turn, 2.238-mile (3.602-kilometer) natural terrain road course in Monterey, California.

The points leader took the pole position for the season finale by recording a top lap time of 71.6127 seconds (112.505 miles per hour) behind the wheel of his #12 Chevrolet in the Firestone Fast Six, the third and final round of qualifying. The pole position was the 68th of his career, breaking Mario Andretti’s record of 67.

Power was the only championship contender who got into the Firestone Fast Six. Juncos Hollinger Racing rookie Callum Ilott was just 0.0193 seconds (0.030 miles per hour) slower than Power and qualified alongside him on the front row in a career-high second place behind the wheel of his #77 Chevrolet.

Andretti Autosport teammates Alexander Rossi and Romain Grosjean locked out the second row, qualifying in third and fourth place behind the wheel of their #27 Honda and #28 Honda, respectively. Chip Ganassi Racing’s Alex Palou qualified in fifth behind the wheel of his #10 Honda, and Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward qualified in sixth behind the wheel of his #5 Chevrolet.

The other four championship contenders, Team Penske teammates Scott McLaughlin and Josef Newgarden and Chip Ganassi Racing teammates Marcus Ericsson and Scott Dixon, are slated to start in eighth, 25th, 10th and 13th place behind the wheel of their #3 Chevrolet, #2 Chevrolet, #8 Honda, and #9 Honda, respectively.

Newgarden’s incident in the opening round of qualifying prevented him from advancing to the second round, and it also ensured that others in the session only got one more qualifying lap. Included in that group were McLaughlin, Ericsson, and Dixon. Of those three, only Dixon did not end up advancing to round two.

Here is the full starting lineup for the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey.

Starting lineup
1st – Will Power
2nd – Callum Ilott
3rd – Alexander Rossi
4th – Romain Grosjean
5th – Alex Palou
6th – Pato O’Ward
7th – David Malukas
8th – Scott McLaughlin
9th – Felix Rosenqvist
10th – Marcus Ericsson
11th – Simon Pagenaud
12th – Helio Castroneves
13th – Scott Dixon
14th – Rinus VeeKay
15th – Conor Daly
16th – Christian Lundgaard
17th – Kyle Kirkwood
18th – Colton Herta
19th – Graham Rahal
20th – Devlin DeFrancesco
21st – Jack Harvey
22nd – Takuma Sato
23rd – Jimmie Johnson
24th – Dalton Kellett
25th – Josef Newgarden
26th – Simona de Silvestro

Next. Top 25 IndyCar drivers of all-time. dark

Tune in to NBC tomorrow afternoon at 3:00 p.m. ET for the live broadcast of the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey from WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca. Begin a free trial of FuboTV now if you haven’t already done so!