NASCAR driver win streaks heading into the 2023 season

Joey Logano, Team Penske, NASCAR (Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images)
Joey Logano, Team Penske, NASCAR (Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images) /

Throughout the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series season, 19 drivers found victory lane and are set to enter the 2023 season on win streaks.

While five drivers who won at least one race in the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season, including three who entered the 2022 season on win streaks of at least five seasons, failed to find victory lane in 2022, the 2022 season still managed to produce 19 different winners in 36 races.

This mark tied an all-time series record which was set in 1956 and then tied in 1958, 1961, and 2001. Just 10 of those 19 drivers won any races in 2021.

Additionally, five of the nine who won in 2022 but not in 2021 had never won any races prior to the 2022 campaign.

Here’s a look at the active win streaks heading into the 2023 NASCAR Cup Series season.

  1. Kyle Busch, No. 8 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet – 18 seasons
  2. Joey Logano, No. 22 Team Penske Ford – 11 seasons
  3. Kurt Busch (retired) – 9 seasons
  4. Chase Elliott, No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet – 5 seasons
  5. Denny Hamlin, No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota – 4 seasons
  6. Alex Bowman, No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet – 4 seasons
  7. William Byron, No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet – 3 seasons
  8. Christopher Bell, No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing, Toyota – 2 seasons
  9. Kyle Larson, No. 5 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet – 2 seasons
  10. Bubba Wallace, No. 23 23XI Racing Toyota – 2 seasons
  11. Austin Cindric, No. 2 Team Penske Ford – 1 season
  12. Chase Briscoe, No. 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford – 1 season
  13. Ross Chastain, No. 1 Trackhouse Racing Team Chevrolet – 1 season
  14. Daniel Suarez, No. 99 Trackhouse Racing Team Chevrolet – 1 season
  15. Tyler Reddick, No. 45 23XI Racing Toyota – 1 season
  16. Kevin Harvick, No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford – 1 season
  17. Austin Dillon, No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet – 1 season
  18. Erik Jones, No. 43 Legacy Motor Club Chevrolet – 1 season
  19. Chris Buescher, No. 17 RFK Racing Ford – 1 season

Kyle Busch’s 18-year winning streak is tied for the all-time record with that of Richard Petty, whose 18-year streak from 1960 to 1977 saw him win at least two races each year.

To break the record, Busch will need to win a race with his new team, as his last 15 winning seasons came with Joe Gibbs Racing with him behind the wheel of the No. 18 Toyota. He has moved to Richard Childress Racing as the driver of the No. 8 Chevrolet for 2023.

Of the 19 drivers on this list, only Kurt Busch is not set to compete full-time throughout the 2023 season. He made the decision to retire from full-time competition as a result of the head injury he suffered in his single-car qualifying crash at Pocono Raceway in July.

Tyler Reddick, who drove the No. 8 Chevrolet which Kyle Busch is set to drive, is set to replace him at 23XI Racing behind the wheel of the No. 45 Toyota.

dark. Next. All-time NASCAR Cup Series wins list

The 2023 NASCAR Cup Series season is scheduled to get underway on Sunday, February 19 with the 65th annual Daytona 500, which is set to be broadcast live on Fox from Daytona International Speedway beginning at 2:00 p.m. ET. Begin a free trial of FuboTV now!