IndyCar: Driver lineup changes from 2022 to 2023

Alexander Rossi, Andretti Autosport, IndyCar (Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images)
Alexander Rossi, Andretti Autosport, IndyCar (Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images) /

A number of changes have been made to the IndyCar driver lineup over the offseason between the 2022 and 2023 seasons.

The full-time driver lineup for the 2023 IndyCar season was confirmed earlier this offseason. There are 26 drivers who are set to compete in all 17 races on the calendar.

There is an additional full-time entry which is set to see a road and street course driver and an oval driver. As a result, at least 27 cars are set to compete in every race.

In total, seven of the sport’s 10 teams made at least one change to their full-time lineup for the 2023 season.

Three rookies are set to join the sport full-time, with another joining part-time, and three drivers who competed full-time during the 2022 season are no longer slated to do so. One is still set to compete part-time, but with a different team.

Two additional drivers switched teams, while three drivers actually switched cars without switching teams.

Got all of that?

Here’s a full rundown of the changes to the IndyCar driver lineup for 2023.

NOTE: (R) means rookie. Only full-time entries are included.

A.J. Foyt Enterprises, Chevrolet

No. 4

  • OUT: Dalton Kellett

No. 14

  • IN: Santino Ferrucci
  • OUT: Kyle Kirkwood

No. 55

  • IN: Benjamin Pedersen (R)

Andretti Autosport, Honda

No. 27

  • IN: Kyle Kirkwood
  • OUT: Alexander Rossi

Arrow McLaren, Chevrolet

No. 6

  • IN: Felix Rosenqvist

No. 7

  • IN: Alexander Rossi
  • OUT: Felix Rosenqvist

Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

No. 11

  • IN: Marcus Armstrong (R, road and street course races), Takuma Sato (oval races)

No. 48

  • OUT: Jimmie Johnson

Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing, Honda

No. 51

  • IN: Sting Ray Robb (R)
  • OUT: Takuma Sato

Juncos Hollinger Racing, Chevrolet

No. 78

  • IN: Agustin Canapino (R)

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda

No. 30

  • IN: Jack Harvey
  • OUT: Christian Lundgaard

No. 45

  • IN: Christian Lundgaard
  • OUT: Jack Harvey

All-time IndyCar wins list. dark. Next

The Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg presented by RP Funding is scheduled to get the 2023 IndyCar season underway on Sunday, March 5. NBC is set to broadcast the race live from the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida beginning at 12:00 p.m. ET. Start a free trial of FuboTV now and don’t miss it!