NASCAR fans will love Kevin Harvick’s ‘big announcement’

Keivn Harvick, Stewart-Haas Racing, NASCAR (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)
Keivn Harvick, Stewart-Haas Racing, NASCAR (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images) /

Kevin Harvick will not be driving the No. 4 Ford during May’s NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race at North Wilkesboro Speedway.

Kevin Harvick has only driven for two teams throughout his 23-year NASCAR Cup Series career, which is set to come to an end this November at Phoenix Raceway before he makes the full-time move to the Fox Sports broadcast booth in 2024.

He made his Cup Series debut in the 2001 season’s second race at Rockingham Raceway, when he was called upon to replace the late Dale Earnhardt. Earnhardt had been killed in a last-lap Daytona 500 crash to open up the season.

Instead of running the No. 3 Chevrolet, Harvick ran the No. 29 Chevrolet, a car he would go on to run for the first 13 seasons of his career before making the move from Richard Childress Racing to Stewart-Haas Racing in 2014.

Since the start of the 2014 NASCAR Cup Series season, Kevin Harvick has only ever driven the No. 4 car (Chevrolet from 2014 to 2016, Ford since 2017).

That is set to change in May.

Harvick, who teased a “big announcement” on Thursday afternoon, announced on Thursday night that he is set to run “one more time in the 29” in the All-Star Race at North Wilkesboro Speedway on Sunday, May 21.

He is set to carry primary sponsorship from longtime partner Busch Beer, which will need to find a new driver to sponsor full-time next year, on his No. 29 Ford in this race.

The Busch Light paint scheme is reminiscent of the Goodwrench paint scheme he ran on his No. 29 Chevrolet at Atlanta Motor Speedway back in March 2001, when he earned his first Cup Series victory in just his third career start.

Next. All-time NASCAR Cup Series wins list. dark

Harvick has since gone on to have one of the most successful careers in the history of the sport. He won the 2014 championship and has finished tops in total points four times. The current points leader also sits in a ninth place tie on the all-time wins list with 60.