NASCAR: Full Michigan restarting order after postponement

Michigan International Speedway, NASCAR (Photo by Meg Oliphant/Getty Images)
Michigan International Speedway, NASCAR (Photo by Meg Oliphant/Getty Images) /

The remainder of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Michigan International Speedway was pushed back until Monday afternoon.

NASCAR initially planned on starting Sunday’s FireKeepers Casino 400 Cup Series race at Michigan International Speedway at 2:49 p.m. ET, but they moved up the green flag time by 19 minutes to 2:30 p.m. ET as a result of a less than stellar weather forecast, giving themselves a little bit of an extra buffer in which to fit the race before sundown.

Unfortunately, that change ultimately meant nothing, as wet weather meant that the 200-lap race around the four-turn, 2.0-mile (3.219-kilometer) Brooklyn, Michigan oval did not end up getting underway until after 4:00 p.m. ET.

Even after the race finally got started, only 73 of its 200 laps were completed before it was red-flagged due to rain.

Shortly after the cars were brought back into the pits, NASCAR made the decision to postpone the rest of the race.

Given the poor weather forecast for the remainder of the evening, the fact that sundown was set for 8:49 p.m. ET, and the fact that Michigan International Speedway does not have lights, the postponement decision was widely anticipated once the race was stopped.

The race could not be deemed official since 100 of its 200 scheduled laps had not been completed when the action was halted. Races are deemed official when they reach the earlier of the halfway point or the end of stage two, and stage two was not due to end until the end of lap 120.

USA Network is set to air the remainder of the race live beginning at 12:00 p.m. ET on Monday, August 7. According to The Weather Channel, there is a 55% chance of showers throughout the day on Monday, so this remains subject to change.

Whenever the race ends up getting back underway, here is how the drivers are set to line up.

Michigan restarting lineup
1st – Tyler Reddick
2nd – Alex Bowman
3rd – Kyle Larson
4th – Martin Truex Jr.
5th – Erik Jones
6th – Austin Cindric
7th – Brad Keselowski
8th – Austin Dillon
9th – Bubba Wallace
10th – Denny Hamlin
11th – Ty Gibbs
12th – Chris Buescher
13th – Daniel Suarez
14th – Harrison Burton
15th – A.J. Allmendinger
16th – Ryan Blaney
17th – Ross Chastain
18th – Ryan Preece
19th – Corey LaJoie
20th – Joey Logano
21st – Chase Briscoe
22nd – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
23rd – Kevin Harvick
24th – Todd Gilliland
25th – Aric Almirola
26th – Ty Dillon
27th – Michael McDowell
28th – Justin Haley
29th – Austin Hill
30th – Cole Custer
31st – Josh Bilicki
32nd – Christopher Bell
33rd – J.J. Yeley
34th – Josh Berry (crash)
35th – William Byron (crash)
36th – Chase Elliott (crash)
37th – Kyle Busch (crash)

Next. All-time NASCAR Cup Series wins list. dark

Tune in to USA Network at 12:00 p.m. ET on Monday, August 7 for the live broadcast of the remainder of the FireKeepers Casino 400 from Michigan International Speedway. Begin a free trial of FuboTV now and don’t miss it!